We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem hotel in hidden gem resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Carmen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Carmen to your Saves list
Hotel Carmen
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Al Plan De Sora 17, 39030 San Vigilio, Marebbe, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in San Vigilio
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Hidden gem hotel in hidden gem resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Exceptional service, value and location (though not ski-in-ski-out).

Hotel Carmen is a bit like the St. Vigilio resort itself - a bit of a unassuming, hidden gem. Over shadowed by its nearby Sellaronde, St. Vigilio lies on the edge of the Tyrolean expanse of great skiing.

I always get a bit nervous about taking the inclusive meal options, but the meals here were superb. After a long day of snowboarding, it was so relaxing to go to dinner in my slippers and then retire to the bar for coffee and a nightcap.

It is officially rated as 3 star, but punches way above its weight in quality while maintaining a budget price.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    39
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
45
47
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Very friendly staff, delicous meals and breakfast buffet. Nice choice of wines. The shuttle service of the hotel very practical to get to the cable car. Location ideal to walk to the village center or to the cross country slopes. We slept in an appartment, but had the breakfast and the evening meal in the hotel. (no coffee machine in the kitchen of the appartment should we have wished to prepare the breakfast ourselves). It would be nice to return for summer holidays. Warmly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We spent one week in St. Vigilio di Marebbe at Hotel Carmen in mid-February 2013. Our overall experience with the resort and the hotel was great. Sunshine everyday, great snow, great runs, cross-country and great Hotel Carmen. The family run hotel is very close to the centre of the town and a 10 minute walk away from the main lifts. The hotel has a shuttle service to the lifts and back every morning and afternoon. Everyone at the hotel was very friendly and helpful and they attended to all our needs right. The room we stayed in (Edelweiss) was very spacious, around 45 sq.mt and we had plenty of room for 2 adults and one child. The daily cleaning service was very good. The hotel also has a beautiful, spotless spa which we enjoyed very much after a long day of skiing. We stayed on a BB basis but we highly suggest their HB. We ended up staying at the hotel for dinner most nights for their executive chef Walter prepared an outstanding 4 course menu every night at a great value. They also had a great breakfast buffet. If you go to St. Vigilio with children keep in mind that the owner of the hotel Filippo is also an instructor and owns the main ski school in town. We had a wonderful time at Hotel Carmen and we thank the Clara family for their hospitaliy and for making us feel at home. We would love to go back again.

Room Tip: All rooms were spacious. If you travel with children I recommend the Edelweiss suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowthorne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

Stayed this year for a week in February 2012 at this fine, family run hotel. There was 6 of us in total, 4 adults and 2 children, Hotel is overall very comfortable with excellent bedrooms, good restaurant and a really nice " Italian Laura Ashley" type bar and lounge area. Spotless everywhere. Bedrooms very big and well equipped, as are the bathrooms. Food served for breakfast good, and even better dinner in the evenings. 4 courses and all delicious, home cooked and fresh. Most enjoyable. Not the cheapest, but then this is not a low-cost area. Hotel very well positioned for ski lifts to Miara ( Kronplatz) or the link into Sella Ronda. We will go back. Not cheap, but worth the money. Hghly recommended. If it had some sort of pool in wellness area then instead of 4 we would have given 5 stars.

Room Tip: Speak to Filipo, the owner, but rooms are large with lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

A group of friends stayed at Carmen just before Christmas 2012. To make it short - it's great and I will return there with my family. Some details :

1. The good
- location. For those who ski, it's 500 meters away from the cable cars, with private shuttle service. A bit far away to walk, but with the shuttle service - You get royal treatment.
- services. Heated ski room for equipment, friendly and helpful staff, relaxation area, sauna, hammam - all great, especially after intensive skiing.
- food. Be warned - it's extremely difficult to resist, especially at dinner. 5 plate served menu may look small when single plate is served, but trust me - You will leave the table full (and begging for mercy ;-) ) but also the quality - absolutely fantastic. Kudos to the chef. Selection of wines and drinks from the bar also up to everyone's taste.
- rooms. Nice, clean, with modern and nice furniture. Plenty of space in Edelweiss suite, even for a family of 4, or 3 adults. Really plenty of clean space. Safe box available without extra charge, quite big and clean bathroom. Just one awkward thing - bathrooms had a window outgoing to living room ... feels a bit uncomfortable when sitting on the throne with Your friends roaming around the living room :-). It was also a bit too warm to my personal taste during the night, although heating was off. But I like sleeping in cold.
- the hotel. Charming, decorated with wood, nothing to complain about, maybe apart having fireplace in the entry hallway, rather than inside cafeteria/restaurant. But it's a minor thing.

2. Not so good
- internet access kept going down. Only one connection per room allowed, so when You are travelling in pack - You need to coordinate access. Not a biggie, but annoying.
- already mentioned window from bathroom to the living room in Edelweiss ... I would suggest covering it somehow :-)

3. The bad :
- haven't found anything that would be bad or that could make me wonder about returning there.

Now, to sum it up - I am coming back there with my family - for skiing, for apres ski, for the hotel offering comfort and quality service. If You are looking for a hotel in St. Vigilio - You can book it blind and You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2010

Stayed at Carmen 10 days last summer: 3 nights at the Hotel, a week in one of their apartments next door.
I cannot add much to the other dithyrambic reviews you'll find here: the standards of the South Tyrolean tourist industry are, in my experience, generally very high and Hotel Carmen is very good even by those standards. Spotlessly clean, very nicely appointed, nice and helpful staff, good cuisine, mountain bikes freely available to guests, etc.
It deserves each one of its stars. And San Vigilio is a real gem.

P.S. If you stay in self-catered accommodation in the area and feel like cooking, a couple of hundred metres away from Carmen you'll find a pasta-making workshop, whose "canederli", a local delicacy, I found really mouth-watering. And so did the kids and the missus.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2009

We turned up unannounced and they managed to find us a space, despite the hotel being full. The Clara family and staff were professional, but friendly and relaxed from the outset. Although in the village of St Vigil, the hotel is set back a little and is quiet with a lovely open view. The rooms are comfortable in the cosy Tyrolean style and the food was plentiful and tasty - a mix of Italian and Tyrolean. We had a large room with a balcony and, after the eye-watering cost of Venice, the hotel seemed an utter bargain. We spent 6 nights there, walking in the mountains. Although we generally prefer to eat out in the evenings, given the exertion of the day, we were happy to come home to a half board meal. This did mean there was no choice, but the food was generally of a high standard and they will cater for exceptions if you tell them in advance of the meal. They also have a very good selection of wine from the region and are happy to make recommendations, as you are unlikely to have seen these in the UK. A very tasty Merlot from the Suedtirol was most unexpected! Italian and German are the main languages spoken, but all the younger generation seemed to speak English. Being in a ski resort, there is a sauna and steam room with loungers for lolling around. These benefit from a glass wall which affords a view over the village and surrounding mountains. The room had plenty of space for outdoor gear to dry, but they have the usual ski room too. They also have a couple of apartments.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carmen

Address: Via Al Plan De Sora 17, 39030 San Vigilio, Marebbe, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > South Tyrol Province > Marebbe > San Vigilio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in San Vigilio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Carmen 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Carmen in the heart of the Dolomites with his particulary fine position allows you to make in the summer a huge rage of hiking and trekking in the Dolomites and particularry in the Natural Park Fanes Sennes Braies.In the winter the Hotel by the Plan de Corones gives you a strategic point of departure for your skiing in the Dolomiti Superski.Wood-panelled rooms, a fire in the tiled stove, the genuin housemade dishes and the honest hospitality of our family ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere, seekda GmbH, Despegar.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Carmen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.