We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Small Town Wisconsin Café” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Luckenbooth Cafe

Luckenbooth Cafe
1204 Mills Street, Black Earth, WI 53515
(608) 767-2770
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American, English, Irish, Scottish, British
Restaurant details
Arena, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Perfect Small Town Wisconsin Café”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

This is, hands down, our favorite restaurant in the area. Cliff, Yvonne, and the whole staff are wonderful hosts. If they're around, you'll be sure to have them stop by your table and brighten your day. I've loved everything I've had there, but I've particularly enjoyed the chicken wrap, the hearty platter, and their Friday fish fry.

Cliff is both an amazing chef AND a phenomenal baker. Not a common combination, since while similar, both tasks require different skill sets to truly excel at them. Yvonne and the service staff are all so friendly (and funny!) that they make you feel right at home

And you gotta love the fact that a small town restaurant runs their order system on iPads! The best of both worlds. :)

Just keep in mind their focus is breakfast and lunch - any day except Friday they close up shop at 2PM. We most often visit on Friday nights for this reason. That being said, they do A LOT of special events on Saturday and Sunday nights - call and ask when the next ones are, or check their Facebook page. So they're often open, but only on an event by event basis.

If you're in the area, eat here. If you're not, find an excuse to get here! Stop by the Shoe Box for some new shoes, then swing by Luckenbooth. It's worth it!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    8
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I'm sorry I didn't post this review earlier! My family and I happened upon Luckenbooth last summer, and we were all so glad we did! It was the highlight of our summer vacation together. The owners are so great, charming, funny, warm-hearted--they are the kind of people you never forget and hope to see again soon. And the food was both delicious and generous.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good fish fry, excellent sides.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

Stopped for fish and wasn't sure what to expect, was pleasantly suprised. Excellent fish fry- lightly battered, delicious. Great sweet potato fries, homemade bread. Really nice atmosphere, relaxing and not rushed. Will definately go back to try the desserts.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arena, Wisconsin, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Small town Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This place is a must when you are in Black Earth shopping for shoes. Great Breakfast Place and Lunch as good as it gets

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Black Earth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

looking for lunch spot after stopping at Shoe Box - this was a delightful find!!! Was a girls trip & all 6 of us had something different and everyone raved about the food. Very cute inside and the staff was great. The restrooms are wonderful!!! Food was GREAT

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luckenbooth Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Luckenbooth Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luckenbooth Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.