We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful updated hotel on the river” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ironworks Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ironworks Hotel to your Saves list
Ironworks Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Pleasant Street, Beloit, WI 53511 (Formerly Beloit Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Beloit
Plymouth, Minnesota
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful updated hotel on the river”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

What a wonderful place to spend a weekend in Beloit! This hotel was completely renovated within the last year and you cannot even tell it used to be the Beloit Inn. The history of Beloit as a city energized by the ironworks industry is evident throughout this beautiful hotel. From the reclaimed hardwood floors to the iron molds dotting the halls and lobby to the unique style of iron used to number the hotel rooms, this is hotel living at its finest. We were impressed by the attention to detail in the rooms staying true to the ironworks and historic theme of the hotel. The hotel staff and facilities were also great and the proximity to downtown and the wonderful Saturday morning farmer's market also make this a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a riverside view and away from the ice machine which can be very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    32
    8
    5
    5
See reviews for
32
30
6
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

I agree with other reviewers that this is probably the best hotel in Beloit, but there were a few issues with our visit. We (3 people) had a suite for the weekend because we had a racing event at Blackhawk Farms. The Friday night we checked in there was also a wedding reception so parking was difficult; however, there was overflow spots across the street. The room was very nice and clean. We had a nice view of the river and the walking path, but we were right above the outside patio, which was incredibly loud until after midnight. The live music finished at 10 pm, but people lingered with drinks until late, which was terrible for us since we had to get up at 6 am. The front desk told us the hotel was full and there was nothing to be done. I'm surprised that the hotel put people that were not involved in the wedding in a room near the loud wedding guests. Thankfully, our second night was much quieter. The bathroom was very nice with a great rain shower and good water pressure. The beds were soft, but comfortable. The breakfast was fairly good and there was coffee out in the lobby, but they ran out of cup lids on Sunday morning, which made taking coffee to go impossible - dumb mistake for a hotel (I'm a coffee addict, not happy about this item at all). We would say the service was ok - we've had exceptional service in many other hotels. At times the staff almost seemed annoyed when we had an issue. All in all it was a nice hotel and definitely better than other options in Beloit.

Room Tip: We had room 202, which has a great view, but is right above the outdoor patio where loud patrons dri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

The newly remodeled Ironworks hotel is the best place to stay in the area. Is it pricier than others, yes? But it's certainly worth the money. The rooms are modern, comfortable, and clean. The hotel is also the only hotel in Beloit where you can walk to the downtown area and the college. We paid the extra $30 to have the "suite" which included a sitting area, fireplace, two flat screen TVs, and an awesome tub in addition to the beautiful rain shower.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

This was a very nice hotel - and a surprise to me. It is different than a chain hotel so has a few less amenities, but the staff was very nice, the decor is distinctive and upgraded. The restaurant was very good as well.

Would recommend for a business trip

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

This used to be called the Beloit Inn, but, now is under new management, I guess. I have stayed here many times. The staff was friendly, but the hotel has several problems. The first is one elevator which is very slow and is also used for the service elevator. I guess there are stairs somewhere, but I couldn't find them. Someone said you have to go outside to use them…sounds like a fire hazard to me. Food in the restaurant is good, but the free b-fast in the mornings is very mediocre.

Can walk to Beloit college. Very expensive.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marine
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Newly remodeled rooms in a retro (Ironworks) style (circa 1900's) is charming. The rooms are gigantic (and this was only a single queen bed too!). Rooms have a gas fireplace in the center which is two sided and above he fireplace are two 50" TV's one on each side. The hotel is on the river and across the river are industrial buildings no longer in use that have lighted giant graphics of workers and industrial operations of 50 years ago. (very artistic) Great place to take a walk along the river. We walked our scotty dog along the river and we both loved it. (the hotel is small pet friendly). On the lower level is the hotels large restaurant which is excellent...at least 4 stars. We were seated looking across the river at the lighted artworks. This was our fourth stay (we are Florida snowbirds) at this hotel and it was great even before they remodeled.

Room Tip: Reserve early. rooms get filled quickly in this premium hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanley, North Carolina, United States
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

I don't have to go to Beloit that often, but when I do I will stay at the Ironworks! The room was spacious, had a fireplace (!!!) and a bathtub that made my daughter jealous! The beds were great, had great pillows. The shower was huge! I enjoyed the leather couch and two flat panel tv's! Breakfast was included in the room and was awesome. The hotel is on the river. It was a great experience!

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ironworks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ironworks Hotel

Address: 500 Pleasant Street, Beloit, WI 53511 (Formerly Beloit Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Beloit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Beloit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ironworks Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury boutique hotel located on the banks of the Rock River, in historic downtown Beloit, the Ironworks Hotel is inspired by America's industrial heritage. The hotel is home to one of the area's best restaurants, Merrill & Houston's Steak Joint. The Ironworks Hotel is a place for people to work hard, play hard and come together. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ironworks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beloit Hotel Beloit

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ironworks Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.