We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try it again for the 1st time!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Butterfly Club

The Butterfly Club
5246 East County Road X,, Beloit, WI 53511-9553
(608) 362-8577
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 69 Restaurants in Beloit
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Rockton, Illinois
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Try it again for the 1st time!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I hadn't been to the Butterfly since I was a kid. We went for my husbands grandmothers 91st birthday and I was a little nervous. But, it turned out to be great. Everyone enjoyed their food and the environment. You can't beat a good super club over the chains.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    24
    9
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rockford, Illinois
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fish fry not near what it used to be.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We used to go to the Butterfly all the time. The change in ownership was not beneficial at all. They used to have all you can eat cod, and the fish was remarkable. The place was packed. They changed the fish, and eliminated the ayce part of it and it just isnt the same place. Not worth the 40 minute drive from my house.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N. Virginia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“So this is a "supper club". I like it! (Is their scale broken?)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We had a large group meal at this restaurant in Beloit, WI. I'd read a review that described it as a classic WI 'supper club' but wasn't sure what that was. If the Butterfly Club is the example,then I'm a fan.
When we arrived they were finishing setting up the table, so we stopped at the bar. It was very large with lots of seating and led out onto a large deck with more tables. Service at the bar was pretty quick but they started to get slammed with people when we arrived so that slowed things just a little.
The dining room where we sat (there are several wings of it) was large, appropriately lit (not too dim or bright) and not too noisy for the size. Service in the dining room was really great. I'd give them a shout out but I'm bad at names and can't remember. Sorry.
Now to dinner and my review title. They must have broken scales to measure their steaks and other cuts. I ordered an 8oz steak and it must have been at least 12 oz. At that was 12 oz of good beef, not fat or gristle. Since the prices are reasonable and the sides good, I'm not sure how the Butterfly can err in my favor this way, but THANK YOU! I think you should try this place out.
(Note: I was told they have a good fish fry too. Maybe next time.)

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poplar Grove, IL
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

The concept of vintage Wisconsin supper clubs is alive and well at The Butterfly. The food is really good and the portions are generous. Friday night fish is excellent, so is their duck or steak with blue cheese. The bar area is 50's loungish but fun with live music most weekends.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poplar Grove, IL
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Traditional Wisconsin Supper Club with Entertainment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

It is large, comfortable, fine food, especially the steaks and good service. It is a favorite location for parties and reservations are highly advised. The entertainment on weekends is usually well known in the area mostly oriented to the older crowd.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Butterfly Club also viewed

 

Been to The Butterfly Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Butterfly Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.