We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take the guided tour” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Angel Museum

Angel Museum
Beloit, WI
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 14 Attractions in Beloit
Type: Specialty Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The world's largest angel museum, featuring thousands of angels from the Berg Angel Collection and the Black Angel Collection, donated by Oprah Winfrey.
Jabbeke, Belgium
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
136 attraction reviews
Reviews in 123 cities Reviews in 123 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“Take the guided tour”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We visited this museum on May 30th. It has free parking, they give discount for active military and AAA-members and there is an elevator so you can go to the shop with a wheelchair. In an old church, built by Italian immigrants, Joyce Berg's collection is exhibited. After the death of the pastor, the church got in disuse. Joyce found it the ideal place to let enjoy the public of her angels collection, which already includes more than 10,000 angels. We were given a guided tour by Sallie. She showed and explained the most remarkable specimens: like the angel that started it all, the angels with a devil, the 10,000th angel, ... We liked the tour. Without the explanation it would be only showcases with a lot of angels.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    5
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Janesville, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“over a million angels”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

i took my girls here ..and my bff.. i have never seeen so many angels,any avid angel collector will love this place!!!! they even have an opera winfrey angel!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
436 reviews 436 reviews
144 attraction reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
357 helpful votes 357 helpful votes
“Beautiful Museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

The Angel Museum of Beloit is nearby Beloit College and shouldn't be missed on a tour of the city. Many of the angels were donated to the museum and it's quite an interesting place to visit. Oprah Winfrey donated a large number of angels to the museum as well!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amboy, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worth the trip! We totally loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

My daughter & I brought my mother to the Angel Museum as a surprise for her birthday. She loves angels and collects them also. I like angels but not like my mother & I even really enjoyed it. We live about an hour and a half away but it was definately worth the trip. The guide we had made the visit absolutely enjoyable. Thank you Sallie for the time you spent with us. We are already discussing when we can make a return visit. We also enjoyed the gift shop. Thank you Angel Museum for letting me give my mom a special birthday and one she will never forget.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beloit, WI
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Angels galore! A gem right on the Rock River!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

Amazing collections of angels large and tiny, including Oprah's donation of her colored angels. Let the friendly volunteers tell you the many stories that go with each and every one of them!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Angel Museum also viewed

 

Been to Angel Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Angel Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.