We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"A delightful place"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cameo Rose Victorian Country Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Belleville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cameo Rose Victorian Country Inn
Save
You added Cameo Rose Victorian Country Inn to your Saves list
1090 Severson Road, (10 minutes south of Madison), Belleville, WI 53508-9728   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Belleville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
“"A delightful place"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed for two nights on New Year's Eve at the Cameo Rose B&B in Belleville , WI. Every single description we found on its website turned out to be true. It's a delightful place - romantic, beautifully decorated, touch of perfection everywhere. A comfortable room and bed, truly memorable breakfasts with other guests, turned to instant friends, and most importantly - exceptionally wonderful hosts - Dawn and Gary Bahr. We were touched by their hard work and passion for detail. Also, a great place for cross-country skying. Wholeheartedly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    4
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
5
83
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stillwater, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Our only regret was we could only stay one night. The special consideration to accommodate my wife's special dietary needs was so greatly appreciated. We enjoyed our walk in the woods among the wild turkeys and then returned to an excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenosha, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

My trip was a gift from my parents. I stayed for three nights, and I was delighted to be treated like a guest of friends. PEACEFUL HOME is the phrase that emcompasses my experience. The rooms (two) that I called my own were pretty, well-stocked and oodles of comfortable. The delicious breakfast (four-course Bon Apetit-cover yummy) and evening snack were wonderfully created by Dawn. Gary maintains several miles of wide, clear, circling trails that offer beautiful views in many directions - you can't get lost and you don't have to stop walking until you wish to. He is a wonderful steward, controlling invasive species and planting what belongs in that area of Wisconsin. WIldlife was plentiful and fun to walk with and watch.The location is convenient to a good list of places to visit and guests are provided with all information to do so, yet I felt as though I was in the middle of nowhere when on the grounds. Lastly, when all is done, the Bahrs provide numerous sitting areas for rest and contemplation or chatting near their large, serene koi pond. I even slept in the hammock one evening. I wish for you the visit that I experienced.

Room Tip: Check their website for great descriptions and pictures.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCameoRose, Owner at Cameo Rose Victorian Country Inn, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Our heartfelt thanks to you for writing such a fabulous review! It is our goal to provide a peaceful and beautiful retreat for guests who are searching for exactly that. It is so rewarding for us to fulfill those expectations and know that our efforts are appreciated and enjoyed. We have had many beautiful souls pass through our doors in the past 21 years--your parents and now you--are certainly in that category. Thank you so very much and we hope to see you soon! Best wishes, Dawn & Gary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riegelsville, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Then by all means, please visit the Cameo Rose. I've never felt quite so special! My husband and I spent 3 nights there while visiting our son who is attending University of Wisconsin in Madison, only about 30 minutes away. There were so many things to remember about our stay: The beautifully-appointed rooms; the spectacular gardens and grounds; the pond with fish, waterfalls, and statue of a great blue heron; the miles of mowed grass hiking trails and amazing views; the wild turkeys - a dozen of them, at least - that came right up to the house; the quiet that only 120 acres in the country can provide; the breakfasts (several courses plus dessert - honest!) and great conversations around the breakfast table; the treats baked special for us every day; and (above all) our host and hostess Dawn and Gary. We had the most wonderful time there, and intend to be repeat guests!

Thank you both so much!!

Debbie Jo and Don Mitchell

Room Tip: There are only 5 rooms, all equally beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

This was my husbands first time at a B & B. He was not sure what to expect but he absolutely loved it. He said...." Cameo Rose has set the bar so high that no other B & B will come close!" Dawn and Gary felt like family; so friendly and kind! The entire B & B was immaculate, the food was outstanding, and the other guests were so much fun! We cannot wait until spring and summer to visit once again...and again and again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We had a delightful first time stay at this quiet and peaceful B and B over Labor Day weekend. I would agree that the decor is more country than vintage Victorian. We stayed in the smallest of rooms and found it very comfortable and adequate for a long weekend. Dawn prepared the most delicious breakfasts with local and/or organic ingredients. She takes great pride in food presentation by garnishing with fresh herbs from her garden and by changing her china and table settings daily. Although Dawn and Gary have a beautiful home, the grounds are outstanding and unlike any others we have experienced at any B and B. Their property consists of 120 acres of hiking trails, recently installed pond, and gardens. We enjoyed relaxing at the pond with a glass of wine or one of Dawn's delicious baked treats at the end of the day. This is a great location as a base to explore Madison, the many bike trails and cute, small towns in the area. We brought our bikes and took the Badger Trail into Madison, which is paved just 2 miles north. Dawn was a fantastic source of information about the area and also provided restaurant recommendations. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCameoRose, Owner at Cameo Rose Victorian Country Inn, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to submit your kind review. It is gratifying to know that you enjoyed and appreciated all of the attention to detail that we strive to maintain. We do take great pride in offering a high quality and memorable experience for all of our guests and we couldn't do it without all of the fabulous guests (like you!) who visit us. We appreciate you and hope to see you again in the future!

Best wishes, Dawn & Gary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Island, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We have stayed at many B&Bs and the Cameo Rose is by far our favorite! We love Dawn & Gary (the innkeepers) and try to go once a year to "get our fix". We have stayed in a few of the rooms and our favorite is the whirlpool suite. It is over 700 sq. ft. and is very comfortable and delightfully decorated. The whole house and the gardens and walking paths are lovely and the breakfasts are out-of-this-world fantastic! Where else but the Cameo Rose are you going to be treated to a 4-course meal for breakfast?! And every night guests find a yummy sweet dessert in their rooms! I cannot say enough good things about the Cameo Rose. You absolutely cannot go wrong if you decide to try it!

Room Tip: The Whirlpool Suite is decadent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCameoRose, Owner at Cameo Rose Victorian Country Inn, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
We thank you and appreciate you for being such kind and gracious guests! It is always a treat to welcome back our wonderful repeat guests--they are truly the best. It is gratifying and rewarding to read your kind comments and we hope to continue to meet or exceed your expectations in all future visits. Thanks for your high marks and loyalty!

Best wishes,
Dawn & Gary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Cameo Rose Victorian Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cameo Rose Victorian Country Inn

Address: 1090 Severson Road, (10 minutes south of Madison), Belleville, WI 53508-9728
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Belleville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Belleville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What a difference a night makes at a genuine Wisconsin getaway retreat on 120 scenic acres just 15 minutes from Madison - the University of Wisconsin, New Glarus - "America's Little Switzerland and Mount Horeb - "Little Norway". Voted "Best breakfast in the Midwest" and "#11 B&B / Country Inn in North America"! ~ Arrington's ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Country Inn Belleville
Belleville Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cameo Rose Victorian Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.