We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B I've ever stayed in” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cameo Rose Victorian Country Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Belleville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cameo Rose Victorian Country Inn
Save
You added Cameo Rose Victorian Country Inn to your Saves list
1090 Severson Road, (10 minutes south of Madison), Belleville, WI 53508-9728   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Belleville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
“Best B&B I've ever stayed in”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

My 3 biking friends and I stayed at the Cameo Rose a few weeks ago for four nights. We have taken this kind of a trip every year for the past 25 years. This without a doubt was our very best experience and goes down as number 1. The accommodations are beyond perfection, so clean and comfortable. The breakfast is something you just have to experience. Everything is homemade, many courses and more than one can eat. Dawn and her husband are charming, warm, knowledgeable about the area (near Madison) and so available to help in any way.
Do yourself a favor and stay here some time. I'm going back this fall with my husband. He needs to experience this too.
Susan Smith.
Highland Park, IL

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCameoRose, Owner at Cameo Rose Victorian Country Inn, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you so much for your high praise! We do try our best to create a pampered and relaxing stay for our guests and are pleased that we exceeded your expectations. It is wonderful guests like yourselves that make our tasks lighter and our hearts warmer. We are honored to have received such a fabulous review and we hope your husband will enjoy everything as much as you did! : )

Gratefully,
Dawn & Gary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    4
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
5
83
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Ok, as this was my first B&B I went to, I was a little apprehensive. My wife and I were celebrating our first anniversary and were given a "fun pass" for a night but we thought we'd do two, just because. Upon arriving I was amazed at how far the house sat back from the road and thoughts were running thru my head about a horse farm. But then we saw it, in all of it's splendor. A big house cradled in the most beautiful surroundings I have ever seen. As we approached we saw a waterfall, a miniature field of cultured pines, a Gazebo and I had to look away to see where to park LOL. The house is dressed in beautiful flowers and has a large semi private porch that wraps around it with very comfortable chairs and a glider. There are several semi private sitting areas away from the house and each one is different from the other in the way that they are laid out. Then on to meet our host, Dawn. She was very informative as to how to keep her B&B in pristine condition and her knowledge of the lay of the land was amazing. We met Gary her husband, a very polite and witty person but seems to be a bit on the shy side. The interior of the house was laid out so adorably in lace everywhere and had the feeling of coziness that you feel at home right away. Dawn greeted us with a cool beverage and cookies that were to die for.
We drove about 5 minutes into Paoli a small farm community for a burger and adult beverage. People seemed so friendly always asking how we were doing etc.Then back to the B&B for the night. We chose to sit outside on the glider and opened our bottle of Champlain. There we met a couple from Mauston and the conversation flowed till the bodies needed well deserved rest. Our room had a hot tub (be sure to ask for it!!!!) and when we got into bed I awoke to the morning light. The bed was so comfortable I never felt so rested. As I am an early morning person I took off down a couple of the well manicured trails only to be greeted eye to eye by a young buck and a doe. Scared me to death.
Breakfast was something you'd read about out of a chef's magazine and tasted so darn good. Dawn cooks every thing and it is mostly organic and salt free where possible.And she doesn't skip on the taste at all. My wife and I felt full after breakfast and it helped in our touring of the area.
Dawn had helped us, in where to find what we were looking for and was an absolute dear.
Our second day was a mirror image of the first but breakfast was so much better then the first day and I have no reason why!!!
Recommending this B&B as top notch and so cozy!!

Room Tip: Have to get the romantic hot tub
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCameoRose, Owner at Cameo Rose Victorian Country Inn, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Your delightful review was so thorough and enchanting. Thank you for taking the time and effort to make such keen observations. Just one word on Gary--he's not really shy--but is very hard of hearing so sometimes it is difficult for him to participate in conversations. : ) We enjoyed hosting you and are looking forward to seeing you again. We appreciate you!

Dawn & Gary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

We came here to bike on the trails in the area. Stayed here for 4 nights. The rooms are charming, comfortable and quiet. The breakfasts were delicious. The owners (Dawn and Gary) pamper you. They even serve you lemonade or tea in the afternoon along with a homemade sweet. The property is beautiful. The area has a lot of attractions and Dawn is happy to show you where to find them. It was a great experience. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCameoRose, Owner at Cameo Rose Victorian Country Inn, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time out of your hectic pace to write a review. This lovely group of ladies had also stayed with us in 2000 and you won't find a nicer group of friends anywhere! They biked many miles and hours every day in temperatures well into the 90's and beyond and came back with smiles on their faces and kind comments of appreciation. My only regret is that they typically choose a new destination each year. Thank you all for being such a delight to host!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyons, Illinois
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We have stayed at the Cameo Rose four times since it was started, the last time a mere 15 years ago, so we were delighted to see all of the changes that have taken place.

The grounds have been enhanced with a pond, waterfalls, a gazebo, swings, and miles of trails. It makes Cameo Rose so much more than just a nice room with a breakfast; it is truly a place to go and spend time relaxing.

On arrival you will be greeted with freshly made treats and fresh teas and lemonade. Dawn will give you the tour and then simply let you relax and settle in.

The rooms are wonderful, beautifully decorated, as clean as any you will ever find, and wonderfully appointed. The little touches, such as the elegant robes, quality bath products, large towels, and great beds make each night a pleasure. Since this was a "purpose built" B&B even the room walls are sound insulated, so you seldom hear even a slight noise. While some may decry the fact that not all rooms have TVs, the B&B experience should not be about that. Especially in nice weather, spend the evening with a bottle of wine relaxing in the gazebo.

There is not enough words to describe Dawn and Gary's breakfasts - it is no wonder they have been named the best. Imagine a four-course breakfast; a fresh fruit starter, followed by truly home made bakery, an elegant main course, and a "dessert" made to finish the meal. Food that is fun, healthy and as fresh as Dawn's garden, all served in a beautiful setting. Breakfast becomes a time to meet and share with others, make friends, and understand why you chose to stay here instead of a hotel.

Although we didn't have time to explore the trails, we wish we had - and will make time on our next visit.

Bottom Line: If you like the B&B experience this is a "must stay", but prepare yourself for the well paced and thoroughly enjoyable breakfast, along with the great home made afternoon treats. BTW, we find Dawn's "do's and don'ts" to provide a great atmosphere for everyone. And, once you meet Dawn and Gary, you won't believe the person who rated this place terrible.

Tips: Bring some music with you to enjoy while relaxing in the gazebo; ask Dawn for dinner recommendations; plan a little time to explore the trails (before breakfast can be a magical time).

Room Tip: Two rooms do have DVD players and TV's if this is something important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCameoRose, Owner at Cameo Rose Victorian Country Inn, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to critique us so thoroughly! Considering your "55 Trip Advisor reviews", you are a well seasoned authority on world travel and we are very appreciative of your 5 star review. Thank you also for taking all of the fantastic photos and for posting some of them on our Trip Advisor site. We look forward to seeing you both again soon and humbly thank you for this honor of your high marks.

Our best wishes,

Dawn & Gary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

We have just returned from a three-day stay at Cameo Rose, restored and invigorated. B&B's can be as uneven as they are charming, but at Cameo Rose, they get everything right. The bed was so comfortable we inquired after the brand, and the room was quiet and spacious, yet Cameo Rose is so much more.

We walked and hiked the miles of trails on their land at all hours, but my favorite time was the evening. At dusk, we saw three sets of deer (including two fawns), wild turkeys and a barn owl. Then as darkness began to fall, the pathway glittered, literally for miles, with such an abundance of fireflies it felt like a fantasy. At the pond, which is lit from within the water, we had a grand time spotting out the bullfrogs, peepers and who knows what other kind of frogs were carrying on their symphony. We went in to watch one of the 100+ DVDs available, then came back out again to marvel at the stars.

Everywhere you look, there is a special touch, like the porch swings on the porch, in the woods, under a rose-covered gazebo; or the tiny, secretive bower just large enough for two; or the table and chairs one comes upon with surprise perched on a promontory off in the woods. The last thing Dawn does before laying out her astonishing breakfasts is to snip fresh flowers from the gardens for the table, gently scenting the room with lavender and roses (in June, anyway). Dawn and Gary strike the perfect note of hospitality -- warm and responsive while respecting guests' privacy.

One of Dawn's breakfasts, by the way, was the best we've ever eaten. For dinner, we ventured toward Madison where we found a couple of exceptional restaurants 10-15 minutes away. (Check out Eno Vino.) Who would guess this perfect refuge is so close to "civilization"?

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCameoRose, Owner at Cameo Rose Victorian Country Inn, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
We are so pleased that you enjoyed all aspects of the Cameo Rose. We strive to incorporate the outdoor garden areas and our managed woodlands into a peaceful and serene retreat for our guests. Our mission is to enhance the comfort of the inside amenities with many outside locations as well. Thank you for taking the time to notice and to comment so positively. It is very much appreciated and we hope to see you again soon!

Our best wishes,

Dawn & Gary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, IL
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

My husband and I celebrated our 43rd wedding anniversary here. The setting is extraordinary: acres of trees, beautiful perennial gardens, a gazebo to relax in with a glass of wine while looking out at the adjacent pond and waterfall. Gary does a wonderful job with the outdoor upkeep. Dawn did an extraordinary job of decorating this Victorian B&B. It's fun to go from room to room looking at all her collectables. Our room was specious and clean. The breakfast was one of the best I've ever had; you'd think that you were in a 5-star restaurant with all the attention to detail. We would definitely return to this special place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCameoRose, Owner at Cameo Rose Victorian Country Inn, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
We appreciate your kind comments and were pleased that you had an enjoyable anniversary stay with us. We seem to attract the nicest people in the world! We thank you for taking the time to write a review and we hope to see you again in the future. Congratulations again on your anniversary and we wish you many more to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

There are some amazing things about Cameo Rose:
- absolutely beautiful property -- off the road, on a hilltop overlooking fields, w/ a private hiking trail in the woods, beautiful garden, pond, gazebos, humming birds, etc. Just delightful!
- absolutely quiet room and ac - completely remodeled to a very high standard
- delicious breakfast w/ farm fresh ingredients, not just the quantity, but quality is very high
- nice inn owners who really care about maintaining a high standard

Little changes can make an even greater experience:
- The Inn and room is a bit over flown with vintage dresses, hats, chairs, vases, dried flowers. Reducing the clutter will make the room and inn feel more spacious and more appealing for a longer stay.
- The Inn has a wonderful DVD library, but it is a bit difficult to choose a movie based only on the DVD titles. Making the DVDs freely assessable to guests like most of Inns do will be a big plus.

All in all, this is the best B&B in the area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCameoRose, Owner at Cameo Rose Victorian Country Inn, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review! We appreciate your thoughtful comments and suggestions. We do have an extensive library of over 1200 VCR & DVD movies for guests to choose from, which would make it difficult to display in a common area. Thanks again for taking the time to provide us with your helpful insights.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cameo Rose Victorian Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cameo Rose Victorian Country Inn

Address: 1090 Severson Road, (10 minutes south of Madison), Belleville, WI 53508-9728
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Belleville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Belleville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What a difference a night makes at a genuine Wisconsin getaway retreat on 120 scenic acres just 15 minutes from Madison - the University of Wisconsin, New Glarus - "America's Little Switzerland and Mount Horeb - "Little Norway". Voted "Best breakfast in the Midwest" and "#11 B&B / Country Inn in North America"! ~ Arrington's ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Country Inn Belleville
Belleville Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cameo Rose Victorian Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.