We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True rating is less than Zero” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Campus Inn Motor Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Campus Inn Motor Lodge to your Saves list
Campus Inn Motor Lodge
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   815 Park Avenue, Beaver Dam, WI 53916 (Formerly Best Western)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Beaver Dam
Lacrosse
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“True rating is less than Zero”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Worst hotel experience! Smoke and mildew smell in 1st room, ac didn't work in 2nd room...Manager was very rude and offered $10 off our $190 bill for 1st 2 sleepless nights and also offered to check us out. I am checking into other hotels for the rest of our stay. Last time we stayed here ( I tried and tried to find another close hotel for this stay b4 we got here with no luck) the tub and sink didn't drain and the room smelled of mildew. Only pleasant associates here are some of housekeeping. Oh, by the way...when you are told we will send maintenance to check it out...good luck! One of my trips to the "customer service" desk another customer had a refrigerator that didn't work. Do yourself a favor and spend a bit extra to stay somewhere else...you will be glad in the morning!

Room Tip: None at this hotel...go to another!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    8
    12
    6
    6
See reviews for
16
8
1
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northwest Indiana
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

We (family of 4) stayed here as part of a group participating in a baseball tournament. Our group took up over half of the hotel and we had over 100 children under the age of 13. We do this twice a year and have for the past three years. This hotel was the most accommodating we have been to in those three years.

The hotel is a bit dated, but is well-kept. Our stay started off a bit rocky with an AC problem, but the staff handled it immediately and we were very satisfied with their response. Our room was on the second floor which requires the use of stairs, but for us this isn't a problem as we prefer to use the stairs anyway. The bed was comfortable and the room had a nice sized fridge and a microwave.

The on-site lounge was nice and had my favorite Wisconsin beer (Spotted Cow) in bottles so that worked out well. It was also nice to be able to get away from the children for a bit while remaining in the hotel. The bartenders were very pleasant.

The pool area was very nice and spacious allowing many children to be in that area and not in the lobby or hallways. There is a ping-pong table, a pool table and some video games in the area. The pool is large and the is a small hot tub also. There are also plenty of places to sit in the pool area. The kids really liked it.

The hotel is located within walking distance to restaurants, a grocery store and a very nice liquor store with a walk-in beer cooler. We did not have to do too much driving on this trip. There is also an in-house restaurant, but we did not eat there.

The best thing about this hotel is the staff. A group with as many kids as we had can be very difficult to work with and they were fantastic. They did their jobs with smiles on their faces and the manager (Sam?) was working at least 12 hour (I'm sure it was more) shifts to keep us happy. He checked us in at 2pm and was bar tending late into the evening. I haven't stayed in a hotel that the staff worked that hard in before.

If I find myself in Beaver Dam in the future, I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Richmond, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

My mother and I stayed at this hotel while having a mother daughter weekend. We found the staff to be very nice and helpful. We also talked about how this might be the cleanest hetel we have ever stayed at. When we checked out we reserved for next year already.

Thank you for making our weekend away even more enjoyable!

See you next year

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitowoc, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

surprised to see so friendly staff and going out of the way to satisfy the guest demand.It had what we needed,a big nice clean pool with a lounge in he property, clean rooms and was amazed to see the house keeping using black lights and using uv lights to sanatize the rooms.Would definetly come back again

Room Tip: just dont go by the old reviews, everything is nice in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandusky
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

Centrally located to shopping and eateries. Has a nice lounge. Staff was very friendly. We would stay again

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaver Dam, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

i have been staying in this hotel form past 35 days, and i found it the best hotel in the beaver dam vicinity, it has got every thing that you need for a short or a long stay.The pool area looked very big and well-maintained, lot of recreational activities for kids and adults snooker & ping pong , video games, it has got a small gym with equipments for cardio. The breakfast buffet had a decent amount of choices (waffle maker, hard-boiled eggs, pastries, toast/bagels, oatmeal/cold cereal, fruit, coffee and juices. the best part of it is its location you have mac D & 3 other resturanats at just walking distance, gas pump & some mega shopping stores are very nearby. 10 out of 10 for cleanliness , infact entire hotel is well maintained, and at the front desk SAM , NITA & other team they are very polite and helpful to make your stay comfortable.keep up the good work guys.

Room Tip: have a pool side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

My daughter's skating team booked us at the Best Western for a weekend competition. Some of the parents refused to stay at this hotel, saying it wasn't very nice. I jumped on TripAdvisor and many of the reviews seemed to echo that sentiment.

I was pleasantly surprised with the hotel. The outside of the hotel was a little dated and the rooms were a little on the small side, but the room (including the bathroom) was very clean. The room also had a small refrigerator and microwave. The only small glitch was that the heat wasn't very powerful on that cold winter night.

The pool area looked very big and well-kept. The breakfast buffet had a decent amount of choices (waffle maker, hard-boiled eggs, pastries, toast/bagels, oatmeal/cold cereal, fruit, coffee and juices). The breakfast room was on the small side, so it got a little crowded.

I dealt with the front desk staff twice over the phone and then upon check in and check out and they were very helpful and friendly.

I'm glad I kept my reservation at the Best Western and wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
50062, General Manager at Campus Inn Motor Lodge, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
I appreciate your response and giving your reviews.First of all we had snowplow guy come in three times that day but as there were so many cars parked we could not get all the snow cleared and also we never got any complaint about someone falling in the parking lot.Secondlly yes there was an incident were someone pooped in the hottube and we have to drain and sanitize the hotube.As we were sold out and had lots of kid it was tough explaining to give to everyone.And i apologise for the attitude of Vick and he had been disciplined about it. I only came to know about vick's attitude after your mom called and talked to me about it.Also from bestwestern we have already awarded 6000points to you for your inconveinence.
I again apologize for the event and request you to give us second chance to satisfy you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Campus Inn Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campus Inn Motor Lodge

Address: 815 Park Avenue, Beaver Dam, WI 53916 (Formerly Best Western)
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Beaver Dam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Beaver Dam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Campus Inn Motor Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Business-oriented 4-story Motor Lodge located on Highway 33 & 151 Bypass, 5 blocks from Wayland Academy. Visitors to this comfortable Beaver Dam, Wisconsin hotel will enjoy a variety of amenities as well as close proximity to local businesses and schools. The Campus Inn Motor Lodge offers easy access to area businesses and schools including John Deere, Kraft Foods, Wayland Academy, and the University Wisconsin - Madison. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Campus Inn Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Beaver Dam
Beaver Dam Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Campus Inn Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.