We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family fun at its best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Deer Valley Lodge & Golf

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Deer Valley Lodge & Golf to your Saves list
Deer Valley Lodge & Golf
401 W. Industrial Dr, Barneveld, WI 53507   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barneveld
1 review
“Family fun at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

I love the hotel and staff at Deer Valley Lodge and would highly recommend to everyone who wants a nice hotel with water park at a reasonable price. The rooms ate roomy and clean. The location is beautiful and away from the city rat race.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    12
    7
    8
    7
See reviews for
28
15
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Water park appears unclean in general. Peeling paint, messy, dirty locker rooms, water appears dirty, cloudy and was very cold. Little supervision for number of users. Was not sure if there was certified life guards on duty ever. In general not sufficient housekeeping or upkeep. Dirty floors and tables found in entire lobby and breakfast area. Could be a nice place with better management. Ridge Point Rondevous is closed. Will not go back.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dvlmanager, Manager at Deer Valley Lodge & Golf, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
We appreciate your feedback and we sorry our Water Park didn't meet your expectations. Our Water Park staff cleans the Water Park on a daily bases. They take great pride in testing and keeping the water clean and up to code. The water temperature is always kept at 83 - 84 degrees. We will be sure to pass your comments along to the staff so they can make adjustments accordingly. We are aware of the small area on the pool deck that has chipping paint and we are in the process of getting this fixed. When we have our Tower Slides operational we have certified Lifeguards on staff per the State requirement.

The Lobby area is a popular place for hotel guests to gather, play games, and hang out. We do our best to keep the Lobby area clean as we realize it is the first thing our guests see when they arrive. During your stay we were hosting multiple families during Spring Break and the Lobby was constantly being used. We will let our cleaning staff know about your concerns.

We are also sad to see that Ridge Point Rendezvous the restaurant just up the road form us has closed. We hope to see it open again soon. Since they have closed many guests have enjoyed the numbers of restaurants in Mt Horeb an 8 minute drive East on Hwy 18.

Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Barneveld hotels

Dodgeville, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Had wedding at Deer Valley Lodge. Beautiful banquet hall overlooking golf course. We had 300 guests and the facility easily accommodated us. Food was terrific. Event coordinators were with us from day 1 all the way through the wedding day. They were great help, no need to for a wedding planner. Hotel , water park and golf course were a amenities for all our guests. No reason to leave the resort the entire weekend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder CO
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We were in town for a wedding and were disappointed in the overall experience here.

I do have to say the rooms were clean and the service was great, but that is where it ends.

Waterpark- gross!! Dead flies everywhere, paint peeling off the floor, sticking to feet. Rust, grime, etc. The hot tub was full of froth (meaning not clean).

Breakfast- not much variety, no fruit. They don't put out tea bags because they say the guests steal them. Whatever!

For $100+ per night, there was no value. No microwave or fridge. You had to pay extra for one. Pay extra for cribs, toothbrush, etc. I felt very nickle and dimed.

If you have a choice, skip Deer Valley and find another option.

Room Tip: Stay on the 3rd floor. Very noisy on the 1st and 2nd floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

My husband and I were looking for a place somewhere quiet, but not a super small motel. The DVL delivered so much more than we expected. We just pulled the place up on the GPS and decided to give it a whirl. The view is awesome. We aren't even golfers, but there is a hiking trail behind the lodge that is a couple of miles that offered some great views and nature. The water park was great! The slides were open until 8pm and the whole pool/hot tub area open until 11pm. The hot tub is large! There were two life guards on duty monitoring the slides, which are great for adults too!:) The water park wasn't real crowded at all, but we stayed after kids went back to school for the season. There were also no events going on during our stay. They have a saloon in the hotel and some basic necessities you can purchase at the front desk area, like razors, aspirin, etc. They have a cooler with not only pop, but beer cans that you can purchase and take to your room. There is a concession stand in the pool area where you can order pizza and snacks. We ordered a pizza and they delivered it to our room along with paper plates and silverware. It was very good! Our room was very clean and quiet. The tv was pretty out dated, but that wasn't real important to us. All in all this was a fantastic place to stay! It was $120 on a Saturday night, while the Holiday Inn down the road with a small indoor pool was $40 more! Staff was very friendly. The atmosphere is very friendly and homey. It felt like a nice big kids camp with a few more luxuries.:)

Room Tip: Third floor is the most quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eastman, wi
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Had a great stay at this hotel! Really enjoyed the pools and the watersides were fabulous! Had a good breakfast selection, lots of fun. Would stay again! The front desk ladies were very helpful. We had to use one of our room keys in the wall to turn on the lights, that was different, but not that big of a deal. The location was nice and close enough to Madison, food options are limited though.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor, loved the location we had. Would recommend staying on an end room, it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aitkin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

went to a family reunion in august and stayed 2 nights. first night was fairly quiet but the second night was noisy until 2 or 3 a.m. . there was a wedding reception and I do not think they had any security. Not much of a continental breakfast and no decent restaurant in the hotel. Maybe it is ok if you are a golfer otherwise I would pass.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dvlmanager, Manager at Deer Valley Lodge & Golf, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
We appreciate your feedback. We do find that golfers and families with children find Deer Valley a great value due to the waterpark, themed rooms, 27 hole golf course, and many nearby attractions. There are great nearby restaurants including Ridgepoint Rondezvous in Ridgeway and many eateries in nearby Mt. Horeb including the Grumpy Troll Brew Pub. We are constantly looking for new menu items for our continental breakfast and are sorry you were unhappy with the selection. We do have posted quiet hours and should any guest experience noise issues we ask them to alert any staff and it will be taken care of quickly. We do hope you enjoyed your family reunion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Deer Valley Lodge & Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deer Valley Lodge & Golf

Address: 401 W. Industrial Dr, Barneveld, WI 53507
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Barneveld
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barneveld
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deer Valley Lodge is a 62 unit hotel featuring a 12,000 sq. Ft. Indoor Water Park with 2 Tower Slides, 0-Depth Pool, Activity Pool, Oversize Jacuzzi, and numerous water splash and dump features. Other features include a large Banquet Facility, Business Meeting Rooms and the Rusty Nail Saloon. The facility also includes an 27 hole Championship Golf Course. Located just west of Madison, Deer Valley Lodge offers affordable family getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Deer Valley Lodge & Golf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deer Valley Lodge & Golf Hotel Barneveld
Deer Valley Lodge And Golf
Deer Valley Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deer Valley Lodge & Golf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.