We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Deer Valley Lodge & Golf

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Deer Valley Lodge & Golf to your Saves list
Deer Valley Lodge & Golf
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   401 W. Industrial Dr, Barneveld, WI 53507   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barneveld
Iowa
Level Contributor
156 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Perfect place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

I've been by here a few times over the years but never looked at staying. Plus I'd guess it would've cost more then what I would want to pay. Great location, nicely done rooms and cool indoor mini waterpark. Any kid would love it for sure. The use of the waterslides is limited due to not being able to have a life guard on hand daily. Oh, be sure to get one of their own pizza's VERY good!

Room Tip: bring your swim wear!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JGluvsMexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Stillwater, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Let me start by saying that there isn't much else in Barneveld other than the Deer Valley Lodge. Fortunately, there are a ton of places to visit in an hour's drive or less. We came to stay for two days (Sunday and Monday nights) with a group of six, including two kids, to celebrate my mother's 70th birthday. We stayed in one of the king bunk bed suites. Because we stayed weeknights, we were given a GREAT rate on the room. The breakfast was similar to that in the big chain hotels - cereals, breads/donuts, yogurt, waffles, fruit, juice, coffee. The pool area was perfect for our family. Although the big slides aren't typically open on weeknights, the pool was spacious, the hot tub was huge, the fountains and smaller slides were tons of fun for the kids, and everything was much cleaner than the big hotels in the Dells. It was a great home base for a trip to Circus World, House on the Rock, Little Norway, and Cave of the Mounds. Great trip and a real value for family travel.

Room Tip: Call and ask about specials, especially if you're staying on a week night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tami B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WI
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

We made it back to Deer Valley, It was awsome. We met some other people there that were having as much fun as us. The staff at the front desk were nice and helpful(Lindsay) and the young man in the Rusty nail was fun. We can't wait to come back in the spring and play golf and stay again. We love Deer Valley.

Room Tip: Upgraded to a suite at a good rate during the week.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Duxbak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

I stayed here for 2 nights and would not come back again. Every day, I had to stop off at the front desk because my keycard stopped working. The maid did not make the bed (no, none of my personal effects were on the bed) and the noise level was horrendous - slamming doors and shouting in the hallways all night long. Additionally, it was hit or miss with the Wi-fi - sometimes it worked, other times it didn't. Will stay in Mt. Horeb next time around.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Barneveld hotels

Plymouth, WI
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

My wife and I stayed here the Sunday before Labor Day. Another review for this facility recommended staying on the top floor so lessen the noise from other guests. The hotel was not all that busy, so noise was not a problem at all.

The staff was very young but friendly. Our room had a single King sized bed which was comfortable. The room was very large and clean with a view of the golf course. The breakfast bar was nice with lots of seating.

We played golf on Sunday and Monday. The course was in nice shape and fun to play with lots of elevation changes.

We always eat at the Grumpy Troll in Mount Horeb when in this area. It's one of our favorite places to eat with beer brewed on site and great food!

I can't think of any negatives, we had a great time.

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Golfwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baraboo, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

My experience at Deer Valley Lodge in August of 2011 was pretty bad. The room said “Whirlpool Suite” and I guess if I would have viewed the pictures the way we entered the room I would not have reserved it and paid extra for it. The 2 double beds are next to each other and the pool is 10 inches from one of the beds. Privacy was out of the question with kids in the room.
The pool area was nothing to brag about but may be good for small children. We sat at the only table that had the least amount of food drippings on it. The next day we went to the same table and it still had the same dried up ketchup and food drippings on it. The bathroom in the pool area also had feces around the sides and bottom of the toilet in the men’s room and was there all 3 days. I did see a maid finally clean in there as we were checking out on Sunday.
The first night I had some magnetic bumper stickers stolen off my vehicle. I asked the girl at the desk for the manager or owner and they stated they were off for the weekend and could not be reached. I had to call the Sherriff myself because she didn’t “want to get involved”. Come to find out they only have one entrance camera and nothing to see into the parking lot.
Last but not least, I went to use the one working computer to check my email through a web email program. Someone downloaded a virus on the computer which records your typing and memorizes your password. The program sent a virus out to all my email accounts. I had my email carrier and email address for 15 years and never had this happen. Needless to say I paid a premium price for a poor experience. I paid less at the Hyatt in Chicago. Beware and don’t expect much.

Room Tip: Don't pay for the whirlpool suite if you want privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Simtec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dvlmanager, Manager at Deer Valley Lodge & Golf, responded to this review, September 2, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your most recent stay. We apologize that the Double Queen Whirlpool Suite did not exceed your expectations and provide the privacy that you were looking for. We will talk to our front desk staff about being more informative when describing rooms to our guests, so we can provide our customers with a room the is right for them, as we do have whirlpool suite that does offer more privacy. We attempt to update our website with recent pictures of each of the rooms and descriptions whenever possible so guests can view their rooms prior to arrival.

Thank you for your input on the cleanliness of our Water Park tables and restrooms. We pride ourselves on being clean family fun hotel and it is really disappointing to hear that we failed on the weekend of your stay. We will share this feedback with the Head of Housekeeping and have her work with the Housekeeping Team to ensure that our cleanliness standards are understood.

I want to thank you for informing us of the virus that we had on one of our computerS. The computer has been sent in for repairs and will have the virus removed.

We commit ourselves to continually listening to our guests' needs and feedback to make sure we're doing everything we can to ensure enjoyable family vacations on our property. If you would like to contact us to discuss your concerns further, please call me (Travis Elvert - Hotel Manger) at 608-924-1600.
Thank You,
Deer Valley Lodge Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

Just visited this past weekend. Stayed 2 nights. Our room was located on the first floor. The first night, there were kids running above us all night long Sounded like a herd of buffaloes. Complained 3 times and I don't think it helped any as the kiddies ran/jumped harder every time we complained. The next night was 100 times worse as we still had the kids running above us and now there was a wedding reception in the banquet hall and at 1:30 in the morning all the drunks came to hotel and were knocking on the wrong doors and trying their key cards in the wrong rooms. Very, very, very noisy!!! On top of that since there was a wedding reception there was no parking when we got back to the lodge. We had to park in the back in the grass. Very unaccommodating since we were a paying guest. On the flip side the rooms were clean and decorated nicely. Pool/water park was great for the kids (although the slides were only open in the late afternoon to evening). jacuzzi was amazing. Continental breakfast was definitely continental doughnuts, bagels, toast and cereal. Our party also ordered food from the Rusty Saloon and thought the food was terrible. Also wanted to speak to the manager while we were there but that person was never there. More than likely we will not be back.

Room Tip: Request room on top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rubberducki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barneveld
10.2 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Mount Horeb
11.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Quiet House & Suites
15.7 mi away
Quality Inn Mineral Point
Quality Inn Mineral Point
#2 of 2 in Mineral Point
4.5 of 5 stars 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Madison West
11.8 mi away
Don Q Inn
Don Q Inn
#2 of 5 in Dodgeville
4.0 of 5 stars 110 reviews
9.5 mi away
Karakahl Country Inn
Karakahl Country Inn
#3 of 3 in Mount Horeb
3.0 of 5 stars 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deer Valley Lodge & Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deer Valley Lodge & Golf

Address: 401 W. Industrial Dr, Barneveld, WI 53507
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Barneveld
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barneveld
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Deer Valley Lodge & Golf 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deer Valley Lodge is a 62 unit hotel featuring a 12,000 sq. Ft. Indoor Water Park with 2 Tower Slides, 0-Depth Pool, Activity Pool, Oversize Jacuzzi, and numerous water splash and dump features. Other features include a large Banquet Facility, Business Meeting Rooms and the Rusty Nail Saloon. The facility also includes an 27 hole Championship Golf Course. Located just west of Madison, Deer Valley Lodge offers affordable family getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Deer Valley Lodge & Golf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deer Valley Lodge & Golf Hotel Barneveld
Deer Valley Lodge And Golf
Deer Valley Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing