We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 Night Minimum” 2 of 5 stars
Review of 4 Winds Motel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added 4 Winds Motel to your Saves list
4 Winds Motel
S4090A US Hwy 12, Baraboo, WI 53913   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Baraboo
Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“2 Night Minimum”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

We have previously stayed at this older motel by chance, calling for a room same day. Although it is a bit outdated and off the beaten path, it was comfortable enought. I called to inquire on a room for the following night and although she had rooms available I was told in order to reserve a room there was a minimum 2 night requirement but, IF I wanted to wait until tomorrow to see if she didn't sell all of her rooms, I could call back to get a room the day of. We are 200 miles away so I am not willing to take a chance that she MIGHT have a room left and will not consider this motel for future stays, even for muliple night stays.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    1
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
2
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rhinebeck, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

I have to question some of the prior reviews with respect to cleanliness & comfort. Stayed here on several occasions given its close proximity to The Dells. While it does lack some of the modern amenities, it is clean and comfortable. Its a great play to relax and unwind. The proprietors are friendly and helpful. Affordable with a great location..close to the HoChunk Casino and the various attractions in The Dells.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York State
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Stayed 5/10-5/13, 2013 while in the area for a wedding. The motel is older, but spotless. Friendly helpful owners. No restaurant on site, but just a very short drive to a number of eateries. Room had a mini fridge for leftovers, which was appreciated. Also very near Ho Chunk Casino. Pool was not yet open, but is available during warmer months. An excellent choice for the budget conscious traveler.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

This has to be one of the worst motels I have stayed at. There were no room phones but a phone on a pole in the parking lot for credit card calls only. The coffee shop would not be open for two weeks yet if at all. The room windows were all open on a 50 degree all day rainy day and all the bedding, towels, etc. were damp. There was no heat available but told that there was an extra blanket to keep warm with. The bed was a broken down mattress that was only about 6 inches above the floor and covered with a plastic tarp type sheet. There was no safety lock on the door and only one towel & washcloth for two persons requiring a trip to the office for more.

Room Tip: Pick another motel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

Filthy, dirty, old!!! Bad service. Second worst hotel i've ever stayed in.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 4 Winds Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 4 Winds Motel

Address: S4090A US Hwy 12, Baraboo, WI 53913
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Baraboo
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Baraboo
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your 4 Winds Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 4 Winds Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.