We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Baraboo Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Baraboo Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Baraboo Inn
725 West Pine, Highway 12, Baraboo, WI 53913   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Baraboo
Regina - Canada
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
“Good Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2006

We stayed here for two nights in early August 2006. We were visiting the Wisconsin Dells.

The checkin clerk was very accomodating. Initially they only had a non-smoking room (our preference) for one night (we wanted two nights). She phoned the other Best Western to see what they had. We decided to stay anyway, and the next day a non-smoking room came available.

So we ended up with two rooms - one for each night. Both rooms were large and clean. The A/C worked well - good thing as it was quite warm outside.

The beds in both rooms were large and comfortable

The pool and exercise room both looked nice, but we didn't use either.

The rate was very reasonable.

We ate at Bonzo's, the attached restaurant, both evenings. We were tired the first night and just wanted the convenience. But the food was so good, we went there again the second night.

The only complaint was that there was no milk at the breakfast bar. I noticed this has been mentioned in other reviews, so perhaps they have a problem. Imagine - no milk in Wisconsin!

All in all, it was a fine stay and I would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    64
    39
    15
    19
See reviews for
78
65
12
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2006

Yes, this was exactly what I expected based on the tripadvisor reviews. I liked it - it was very affordable, it was in a good location and it was pretty nice. The hotel is in West Baraboo, not Baraboo itself, which is a bit of a shame because Baraboo is a very cute little town whereas West Baraboo just has a highway, a bad mall, a grocery store and some motels. However, we were only 5 mins drive from Baraboo, and I don't think there was anywhere to stay in Baraboo anyway. We were also only a few mins drive from Devils Lake State Park (hiking, climbing, sailing and swimming etc). I also read that we were only a little way from Wisconsin Dells (water parks, wineries and dinner cruises etc). The hotel was nice, if a little bit dated and musty, (probably due for a refurbishment) and breakfast was pretty good.

  • Liked — Proximity to Babarboo and Devils Lake
  • Disliked — Couldn't walk to anywhere
  • Tips/Secrets — Use your AAA card to get a discount
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2006

Stayed at the Best Western Baraboo about 8 times over the past 12 years and have never had a bad experience. The rooms are always clean. The pool is a good size, and the hot tub is great.

The have a karaoke bar the past few years and it is a blast. A little intimidating since the locals are pretty good.

The hotel is close to Cascade and Devil's Head ski resorts. Also, close to all the water parks too. Staff are very nice and attentive.

There are several restaurants nearby as well as a convenience store in case you forgot to pack something. Never disappointed staying here.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2006

I stayed at this Best Western for the first time. I liked the value and services. Good location, friendly staff, nice hotel.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2006

I have stayed at this hotel a number of times. The rooms are very comfortable and exceptionally clean. Their facilities are well maintained and the rooms very easy to get to which is important for me since I always bring a lot of stuff with me. The nice pub, which is attached to the hotel, serves good food. The staff is always very friendly and helpful as was evidenced by the assistance I received from them when I recently had trouble with my car. I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Il
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2006

After staying at a different property in town the night before, I check into the Best Western and enjoyed my stay from the beginning. My check-in was prompt and professional, and I really felt welcomed.

The room was very nice. The décor and amenities were just what I was looking for. I stayed at a room apparently designed for a business traveler, and must admit they got it right.

That same evening I had a swim in the pool and used the fitness room. Both facilities were very clean and conveniently located. The only problem was that my room was far from the ice machine.

Later in the evening I had a meal at their restaurant. The food was very nicely prepared and tasted great. Enjoyed the free breakfast in the morning.

Overall I would recommend this property to other guests especially if you travel on business.

  • Stayed February 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palatine, Illinois USA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2006

We stayed at this hotel 1/15/06 while skiing at Cascade Mountain. The rooms were adequate and clean however some of the little things were annoying.

There were no towels in our room when we checked in at night. We had to wait for housekeeping to bring them before we could take a shower.

During the day we tried to get into the side door of the building. Neither key card would not open the door. We had to walk around to the front door. Then our key cards would not open the door to our room. We had to walk back to the front desk. Our key cards had mysteriously been deactivated.

When my children when down to the continental breakfast at 8:00 A.M. there was no milk. They were told someone had gone out to buy some and would be back in 10 minutes. When my wife and I went down at 8:30 A.M. there was no milk. We complained and they said some one had gone out to buy milk and would be back in 10 minutes. At 9:00 when we were finished with our milk less breakfast we stopped at the desk and complained once again that there was no milk. We were assured that someone from housekeeping had gone out to buy milk and would be back in 10 minutes.

The people staying next to us had a microwave oven in their room and we did not. We paid a higher rate then they did. When inquiring at the desk they said not all the rooms have microwave ovens. It you want one make sure you ask at check in.

For the kind of money you have to pay to stay here you can probably do better elseware.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Baraboo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Baraboo Inn

Address: 725 West Pine, Highway 12, Baraboo, WI 53913
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Baraboo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Baraboo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please allow the staff at the Best Western Baraboo Inn the opportunity to show you true Midwestern hospitality the next time you find yourself in the Baraboo area. This hotel, nestled on the north side of Baraboo on Highway 12, is conveniently located near some of Wisconsin’s most treasured natural areas and preserves: the International Crane Foundation, The Aldo Leopold Center, and Devil’s Lake State Park. The hotel also offers close proximity to the Wisconsin Dells (Waterpark Capital of the World), where guests get to see a completely different face of Wisconsin tourism. A complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast is now provided to all registered hotel guests in our adjoining restaurant. This property is 100% smoke-free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Baraboo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Baraboo Hotel Baraboo
Baraboo Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Baraboo Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.