We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relaxing getaway with fantastic hospitality and spectacular views.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Wawanissee Point

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Inn at Wawanissee Point to your Saves list
Inn at Wawanissee Point
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   E13609 Tower Road, Baraboo, WI 53913   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Baraboo B&B and Inns
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
“A relaxing getaway with fantastic hospitality and spectacular views.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

We had a wonderful stay with the owners, Dave and Trudy, who made us feel welcome. We enjoyed the wonderful view and personalized touches in our room such turn down service along with chocolates. The location was conveniently located close to our home and has great access from Madison, Milwaukee, or Chicago. We loved the wine and cheese served in the evening and the delicious breakfast served in the morning. We enjoyed our snowshoeing trek with the owners and loved their local restaurant recommendations. The overall experience was fantastic and I would highly recommend this bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
73
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2010

The house is beautiful, the hiking is easy and fun, and Dave and Trudy are seriously the best hosts we've ever stayed with. Their attention to detail is second to none, they are unobtrusive and their afternoon wine and cheese lasted for two hours and was so delicious and extravagant we didn't need dinner afterwards. We plan to go back during the winter months to do some snow shoeing and relaxing in front of their huge outdoor fire and hot tub. The only downsides: the breakfast was nice and wholesome, but nothing spectacular; the area (aside from the hiking) is boring and it takes like 30 minutes to drive into the Dells for dinner (although we were surprised by the quality of the restaurants in the Dells - Dave and Trudy have great recommendations and know some of the people personally - they got us a great table).

If you're looking for a place in the midwest to get away for a time, you won't regret heading to Wawanissee Point.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal Lake< IL
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2010

I have stayed at B&Bs all over the world; none comes close to this jewel in the middle of nowhere. The concept of "cleanliness" is not done justice here. It is "Spotlessness".

The facility is equal parts art gallery, architectural marvel, and botanical hiking grounds and trails.

The hosts (Holdeners) are a fascinating & charming couple with an interesting history

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pekin, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2010

My husband and I wanted a quick trip for a get-away. We decided on the Dells the first week in August and because of our schedules, actually left that Thursday. Since it was peak season, several places which were recommended to us were booked. After checking prices and availability online, I stumbled upon the Inn at Wawanissee Pt. For a little more money, we enjoyed a very clean and comfortable room and were served an excellent homemade breakfast including sweet fresh fruit. The Inn is nestled in the bluffs overlooking Lake Wisconsin . I would imagine that each season would offer its own incredible show of nature. The view was breathtaking from the porch and humming birds entertained us as we savored our breakfast. Our hosts aimed to please, without being overbearing. The Inn offered top notch accomodations in a serene setting, yet was just a hop, skip and a jump away from the hustle of the downtown. Truly a pleasant surprise.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

The best B&B we have ever stayed at! Trudy and Dave have clearly put their hearts and souls into building this amazing retreat on the bluff overlooking Lake Wisconsin. These warm and gracious hosts make you feel right at home. It was the most relaxing two days we have had in quite a long while.

My husband and I arrived to a very warm welcome and a complimentary wine and cheese hour. We used the time to learn more about the area and meet some of the other guests. We were impressed by the wonderful common areas that invited long conversations as well as quiet reading time.

Trudy makes a fantastic gourmet breakfast which we enjoyed while enjoying the breath-taking view as well as a dozen humming birds. The grounds, including the private trails are amazingly well kept.

The room was spacious, tastefully decorated, and immaculate! We were suprised when we returned from dinner to find chocalates on the bed side table along with the turn-down service. We found ourselves sleeping in late each morning because it was so comfortable and quiet.

The Inn is located close to Devil's Lake which offered some great hiking trails. We have already recommended to several friends and plan to make this a regular get-away destination for years to come.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

Our first stay was in the Bordeaux Room, September 4th, 2005 following our wedding. Most recent stay was September 5-6th, 2010 to celebrate our 5 year anniversary. The immediate family filled all 4 available rooms.

Dave and Trudy are the consummate proprietor/ hosts; you will be hard pressed to find a more capable B&B team. Dave is highly skilled alchemist and local historian shaking up beverages and serving wine and cheese behind a glorious cherry wood bar.

I can't think of a better way to start the morning than Trudy's decadent breakfasts (think Aberge du Soleil of Napa). Sunrises over Lake Wisconsin pair nicely with strawberry filled crepes and coffee. Second course: exquisitely seasoned Frittata al Funghi.

The craftsmanship throughout the B&B is remarkable with inlaid exotic woods creating visual interest in all the floor thresholds as well as hand carved wood pieces throughout the property. Meticulously cleaned and manicured inside and out. The gardens and trails throughout the 42 acre property are simply glorious. If you need a quiet week to recharge, rekindle or regroup...highly recommend. Boardroom and onsite business facilities in the basement of the home would also make a good spot for an exec retreat.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

This is a wonderful place to relax and enjoy nature. The views from everywhere are breathtaking. The food is outstanding and is served in a beautiful setting filled with hummingbirds. The hosts are very gracious and accommodating and the rooms are beautiful and comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at Wawanissee Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Wawanissee Point

Address: E13609 Tower Road, Baraboo, WI 53913
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Baraboo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Baraboo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Wawanissee Point 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are passionate about the outdoors or passionate about romance, this is the place for you. Secluded atop the Baraboo Bluffs, adjacent to Devil's Lake State Park, this new, luxurious B&B offers a mesmerizing, 36-mile panorama of the Lake Wisconsin valley and beyond. Replenish amid country gardens, flowing springs and three miles of private hiking trails for escaping in the forest, birding and snowshoeing on our 42-acre, wooded estate. Replenish and romance in four richly appointed guest rooms with private ultra baths. Browse fine artwork, extraordinary craftsmanship and unique appointments throughout the Inn. A peaceful, adult getaway near numerous attractions and fine eateries. Hearty, gourmet breakfast and robust wine & cheese included daily. See the best view in Wisconsin on our live webcam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Inn at Wawanissee Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Wawanissee Point, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.