We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Found by accident; turned out great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Log Cabin Family Restaurant

Log Cabin Family Restaurant
1215 8th St, Baraboo, WI 53913-1805
608-356-8245
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 56 Restaurants in Baraboo
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Found by accident; turned out great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Visiting Baraboo area and looking for place to eat. Garmin took us to places there was no restaurant and we ended up finding this place. Very pleasant surprise. Nice inside, very good food with lots of fresh baked and home made items. Friendly staff and reasonable prices. Next time we are in Baraboo/Dells area we will definitely come back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    47
    24
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stet, Missouri, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Pretty good.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We stopped here late one night on vacation--we had checked into Great Wolf Lodge and were looking for a place to eat after closing down the waterpark at 9pm...wanted to avoid the Denny's and other bad restaurants at the waterpark triangle near the interstate so drove into Baraboo (sp?) and happened across this place. It was still open at 9:10 (they don't close until 10pm) so we lucked out. It was pretty good--just home cookin' type of food. I thought it was actually a chain restaurant because they have professional looking posters hanging out front (think Golden Corral or Tippin's) but I believe it is a local place. I had coconut shrimp, which were just okay, not the best ever, but I was starving and they were good. My husband had some sort of BLT wrap, which he said was good. My kids had the kids' roast beef with mashed potatoes, which they devoured. I also took a piece of the strawberry pie to go, which was pretty good. Service was good--one of our kid's orders was wrong, but the server corrected it without a problem, and I appreciated that they didn't act like it was a big deal that we walked in close to closing time. I would go back if we were in the area again.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun Prairie, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Everything I Want In My Dinner Out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We were visiting in Baraboo so stopped into the Log Cabin for dinner before we left for home. The meal was excellent. I had the Coconut shrimp platter with a side of green beans, and garlic mashed that arrived steaming hot and plentiful. My daughter and son had thick (surprisingly just like the picture) sandwiches and fresh crunchy home fries. As we waited for our main meal, we savored the hot fresh rolls and apple cakes with whipped honey butter and enjoyed the delightful woodsy atmosphere. The service was pleasant and attentive leaving us feeling full and well cared for. We will definitely make it our favorite place to eat when in Baraboo.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conyers, Georgia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Not my choice and disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

There are some great restaurants in the Wisconsin Dells. This place may be OK for locals, but we had several disappointing items from the menu. The beer battered walleye was fairly good, but the pot roast was not acceptable and the "home made" cherry pie was horrible. Will not return. There are much better places within 10 minutes.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrimac, Wisconsin
1 review
“Nice atmosphere; horrible omelets!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Recently ordered the eggbeaters omelet with vegetables, and sorry to say, I think the cook has had little or no experience making omelets. All the vegetables were raw! Raw onion, peppers, etc. inside a thin wrapping of egg is not good--the cook should know you have to saute the vegs first before pouring over the beaten egg. I didn't mention my disappointment as I was with out-of-town visitors and they seemed happy with their French toast breakfasts. I hope the restaurant manager reads this and supervises the omelet chef before he gets many more complaints.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Log Cabin Family Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Log Cabin Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Log Cabin Family Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.