We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Willowood Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Baraboo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Willowood Inn
S5509 Hwy 123, Baraboo, WI 53913   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Baraboo B&B and Inns
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cozy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We just spent a night at Willowood after riding the Mid-Continent Railway dinner train - which we highly recommend. The room was clean and friendly. Truly advertised as a 'mom and pop' in decorating style and simplicity, it had everything we needed to be comfortable and enjoy our stay. Will be delighted to stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    15
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
10
29
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Just returned home after staying 2 nights at the Willowood. It was wonderful - a true Mom and Pop motel with very clean rooms and a warm, friendly welcome from the owners. The theme rooms are great fun, and the common area is cozy. We'll be going back, I'm sure!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Me and my wife stayed here Oct 14th and 15th.We came upfor the fall colors at Devils Lake.The hotel was very nice and different from the same old chain hotels where they are all the same.We arrived on Sun afternoon and I was greeted very nicly at the front desk.I asked what was a good place to eat and she gave me several suggestions.We went to the Barn resturant down the street but was kind of disapointed but oh well.The room we had was nicely decorated with a cowboy theme.The bed was comfortable and the room was quite cozy.My only complant would be the small shower and water presure.In the morning I was able to go up to lobby for fresh coffee.They had coffee maker in the room but I prefered the coffee in the lobby.We went to a dinner type resturant for breakfast that the owner sugested and it was very good.Our stay and the hotel was nice and would come back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I especially liked the quiet atmosphere of this motel. It is clean and the hosts are very friendly. The room was nice sized and I liked that there was a table you could eat/sit at. I will definitely recommend this place to my friends.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

My husband and I spent one night at the Wild Wood Inn and it was a great stay. The owner was very nice and helpful. He was able to recommend a local restaraunt that had fabulous sandwiches and pizza. The rooms were decorated nicely. The lighting in the room is a somewhat dark and the shower was a bit tiny, but all in all it was a wonderful stay! We chose Wild Wood Inn because of the short proximity to Devil's lake State Park (1.2 miles) We would definitely stay here again!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
willowoodinn, Owner at Willowood Inn, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
We are so very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our Inn. BUT - the name of the Inn is WILLOwood, not Wildwood. We named the place after the two beautiful weeping willows in the front yard. We regret it now since there are MANY people who enjoyed staying with us but then cannot find us on the internet because they remember our name wrong. Seems Wildwood is more memorable than WilloWood. Too bad we didn't just name it The Little Red Motel !!! But we truly appreciate your kind words. Linda & Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We were advised by the local tourist bureau that this would be a good value. This is a very quiet out of town spot. The rooms are all decorated as a joy of the owners. They have a video lending library and lots of books of the local area in their large check in area. The beds were fine and the linens personal not commercial. The bathrooms could have been larger. The wall mounted A/C unit was behind the refrigerator so not easy to access. We stayed for 2 nights and all was well.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We choose to stay here based on the trip adviser reviews and we were not lead astray. The "tastefully" decorated rooms threw me off when we first walked in. I didn't realize we were in the tiki inspired room until we opened the door. You can tell the owners had fun decorating the room. My kids loved it. This place is a clean as all the other reviews stated. The best part was the huge back yard for everyone to enjoy. There are dozens of areas to sit outside. The outside is a clean as the inside. There are no spider webs on the swing set, no weeds in the flower beds. We met two other families during our stay that go back to Willowood year after year. We have already talked about going back next year.

The only con is that there is not a bath tub in the room we stayed and the shower is very small. Not super easy to get a 2 year old clean in a 3 by 3 shower stall.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
willowoodinn, Owner at Willowood Inn, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Thank you for mentioning the lack of spiders on the play structures and the lack of weeds in the flower beds! It's nice to know that Linda's hard work gets noticed!

About your little one and the small shower stalls...unfortunately the rooms are too small for us to be able to expand the shower size, but one of our guests found a solution to the problem of bathing little tikes. She bought an inexpensive blow-up tubby (similar to a blow-up child's swimming pool), put it on the floor of the shower, filled it with water, and was able to bathe her child. And we do have 2 units with larger showers in our King rooms.

Hopefully you will come to visit us again and it will be a little easier next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Willowood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willowood Inn

Address: S5509 Hwy 123, Baraboo, WI 53913
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Baraboo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Baraboo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Closest motel to Devils Lake & minutes from WI Dells & ski areas. Step back in time to this clean, quiet, and affordable ''mom & pop'' motel nestled in the picturesque hills south of Baraboo. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Willowood Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Willowood Inn to your Saves list