We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Added bonus to the hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bonzos

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Bonzos
725 W Pine St, Baraboo, WI 53913-1057
(608) 356-8828
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 56 Restaurants in Baraboo
Restaurant details
Menomonie, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Added bonus to the hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Fast service, good simple breakfast food. The bartender that was working was great the night we stayed was wonderful.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    11
    1
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good Food - Good Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We had breakfast at Bonzo's and it was pretty good! The service was prompt and the waitress was friendly and courteous. Only downside was the restaurant was a bit loud and crowded. We'd eat at Bonzo's again if we stay at the Best Western in the future.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Stay away!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

The "caesar" salad consisted on shredded iceberg lettuce, tomatoes, and olives - when we mentioned how strange it was they didn't charge us and offered to fix something else. The fried chicken gave my husband a stomach ache later that night. The server was pleasant and service was fast. We ate early and we did notice that the restaurant was empty by 7. Luckily the hotel serves breakfast and doesn't make you go to the restaurant!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erik h, Manager at Bonzos, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
First off please allow me to appoligize for your dinner expierience with us, it is always our intention to provide quality food at a reasonable price with fast friendly service. I have spoken to the cook that was working on the night you ate with us and reminded him of the proper way to make our caesar salad. As for the chicken i am deeply sorry that it did not agree with your husband. We make all attempts to monitor our temps in accordance with health code regulations. We provide a digital thermometer to our cooks for our meats and chicken to assure they are at temp. We are now in the process of changing our decor and creating a new menu. I hope your expierience does not deteer you from staying with us or trying our dinner next time you visit.

My sincere apologies,
Erik Hintze
Kitchen Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Quite bar atmosphere, good food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

If you are in town on business this is a good place to stop. You can have a drink or two and some good food. Very clean and good service!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Would not go back.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We ate here one evening during our stay at the Best Western. There were only two other people there and they were at the bar and not eating. Service was very slow and our server didn't write our order down. He had to come back and ask what we had ordered. He was very friendly, just not a good server. The food was good, but there are better options in the area.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erik h, Manager at Bonzos, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you for dinning with us at Bonzos. We appreciate your honest feedback as we feel it is the only way to truely know how our service and food stand up to other restaurants. I would first like to apolgise for the bad service you had with us it is our aim to provide great food with fsat friendly service. We are in the process of fixing that. We are launching a new modern dinner menu and updating our decor, along with extensive training of the wait staff. The server you had that night was new and still not properly trained, it was my fault for having him out on the floor so soon. I have since taken him aside to properly train him better and the importance of using his order book. I do hope this does not hinder you from staying with us or trying our restaurant again.

My sincere apologies,
Erik Hintze
Kitchen Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bonzos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bonzos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.