We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Side Street Treat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jen's Alpine Cafe & Soup Ktchn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Jen's Alpine Cafe & Soup Ktchn
117 4TH St, Baraboo, WI 53913-2148
(608) 356-4040
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 56 Restaurants in Baraboo
Dining options: Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Baraboo, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Side Street Treat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

The Alpine has great soups! The rest of the food is good also. In addition, they are reasonably priced and have a warm and welcoming atmosphere.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    12
    4
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reedsburg
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“We need more of these places !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

This place hasn't changed in decades , Great service,good food,good value . The ONLY place in Baraboo to eat .

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Homemade. Breakfast like it used to be...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Went for breakfast 2 times while in the area. Old school diner. Seemed like you stepped back in time. The food was awesome. All homemade items. Not your typical canned corned beef hash, this was the real deal. Great food, good service, a must go place for breakfast at least. Didn't have time to stop in for a lunch. Highly recommended.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baraboo, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
“Not as good as it used to be”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Being locals, we've been to Jen's several times. Normally we have a good experience, but the last few times there have been issues. Two weeks ago, we went there for Friday night fish fry. For whatever reason, they had closed at 3:00PM that day instead of 8:00PM. My husband and I tried again this evening. The waitress was very unfriendly. The whole time she took our order, she would not look at us. She was too busy watching some other people at a different table. Both of our dinners came with soup or salad, so my husband ordered the french onion soup. If the waitress would have told us that the french onion soup was an extra $3.50 charge, he would have ordered a salad. Instead we ended up paying extra for something that was supposed to come with the meal. We also never got the dinner rolls that came with our meal. Even though there were only 3 other tables with people (2 people each, no large tables), the service was very slow. While the flavor of the food was acceptable, the portions were quite small for the price. Tonight will be our last visit.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

A great place for breakfast and lunch. The pancakes including the apple pancakes & pecan pancakes are wonderful. Coffee is great. We eat at Jen's Cafe every time we are in the area. The soups are homemade and we have never had a bad dish. Since every dish is made fresh to order, the wait can get a bit long-but it is always worth any wait.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jen's Alpine Cafe & Soup Ktchn also viewed

 

Been to Jen's Alpine Cafe & Soup Ktchn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jen's Alpine Cafe & Soup Ktchn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.