We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Place use to ROCK” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hooty's Steak House - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Hooty's Steak House
55718 Hwy. 123, Baraboo, WI 53913
608-356-7707
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
Restaurant details
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Place use to ROCK”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

Back 10 -15 years ago this was the place to go for a great sandwich & a choice if about 100 beers. Don't know what happened. Nobody ever there these days.... Parking lot with cars of employees only. Farm Kitchen next door is now open for 3 meals a day...or The Barn are much better options

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    0
    1
    0
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lousy service two times”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

My husband and I had boycotted Hooty's for several years because we had a poor service experience in the past. Against our better judgement, we decided to give Hooty's another try.

We arrived in mid afternoon, and the restaurant was empty. We sat at the bar, and a woman waited on us and served us our beverages. We asked for menus, which she provided. The woman went to the end of the bar and began helping her child with homework for about 15 minutes. Then she started packing up her child's things, and gathering her own belongings. She never came back to take our order, nor did she tell the next shift person that we were interested in eating. After she left, I asked the new staff member who the woman was. He indicated that she was the owner's wife. So.....that explains a lot. The "standard" is set by the owner. Won't go back.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Lake, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very Disappointed!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

Just wanted to add to ajweb5's comments of our dining experience on 9-27-2011. I am not sure why there was a HUGE difference in attitude between our visit there in August and our visit in September. We absolutely loved our experience in August, in fact, the SAME manager/bartender we spoke with couldn't have been more helpful, friendly & accomodating in August - totally opposite in September! We brought friends wtih us for dinner & I was highly embarrassed at the quality of the food. My friend is not one to make a scene, however, and just decided to let it go as a bad experience. BUT, when the manager approaches you after the meal and you decide to express your dissatisfaction, you most certainly DO NOT want to hear a response such as " Really? We've never heard this before - everyone is happy with their food." Well, there is a first time for everything and at a minimum my friend should have received an apology - she didn't ask for a refund or discount - but a good manager would have at least offered to do SOMETHING! Between the 4 of us we spent close to $150 for our meals & drinks - which is not a problem if you get a good meal. Just remember, word of mouth goes a LONG way.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suburb Of Chicago
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“PASS ON THIS PLACE”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

We had lunch about 2 months ago and enjoyed the meal so we decided to try the dinner-big mistake-Food was not prepared and cold-only one waitress and she was extremely busy. To make matters worse as we were leaving the bartender/manager/greeter asked "how was your meal" when advised it was not cooked and we were disappointed he casually stated " i find that hard to believe" we never have complaints. He then walked away.... If you don't care then why ask- We will not return as they are a lot better places-

Try- Rivers Edge Pub and Grub, Cimarolis, The Log Cabin, or Quindts-they are all better.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poynette, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We ate at the bar while watching football...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010 via mobile

We ate at the bar while watching football on a Sunday around 5:00 pm. We ordered two sandwiches. The prime rib was burned and dry while the fish was mushy and difficult to locate in the bun. Our french fries were soggy and limp. The bartender was not capable of doing his job! Overall, a terrible experience.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hooty's Steak House also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hooty's Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.