We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Great Buffet” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Buffet

Golden Buffet
Hwy 12, Baraboo, WI
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 56 Restaurants in Baraboo
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin
2 reviews
“Very Great Buffet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We had a wonderful time there. The place was big and very clean and there were a lot of variety on the buffet, so everybody was able to get what they want. What's more is that there is a hibachi there, so for my picky eaters they were able to create what they. The waitress that we had was hilarious and really tried hard to make sure everything was okay. My family and I really enjoyed our time there and we will definitely come back next time we are at the Dells.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    4
    2
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baraboo, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“They Demand a Tip”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Sign on the front door DEMANDING customers MUST pay 10% tip. The sign alone gives the place a one star rating. Any restaurant owner with a brain would know putting a sign on the front door demanding a tip would be bad for business. Um hello! A tip is given for good service. You do not automatically get a tip! I guess these owners have no respect or care for the customers and only want your money. Big mistake in the restaurant business! That being said the waitress we had could only speak limited English. Communication was very difficult and frustrating. The food is average just like any typical Chinese buffet restaurant. The salad bar was the smallest I have ever seen for a buffet style restaurant. They had about three choses of toppings to choose from besides the lettuce and three salad dressing options. If these guys were going for the world record of having the smallest salad bar I think they would win. I would not recommend this place to anyone. The owners obviously have no clue on how to run a business let alone respect for the customers. God only knows what goes on in the kitchen.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baraboo, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“New & Big -”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We were surprised that it was not busier then it was being a Saturday night. One of the 1st things we noticed was a hand written sign saying that the wait staff works for tips. We really thought that looked so inappropriate.

We paid for our dinner and was politely seated and our waiter was promptly there. Asked us if this was our 1st time here and we said yes. He then proceeded to point out the different tables of food as well as the Hibachi area.

Was pleasantly surprised with the amount of food as well as the Hibachi area and being able to pick out your own ingredients to be fried up. We were quite pleased with our meal as well as our waiter. The only thing we did not like was the tacky sign saying the wait staff works for tips.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Terrible and price was to expensive”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We decided to stop in this Buffet on our way to the Water Park. What a mistake. It was a Sunday all day Buffet and we were charged over $13.00 per person for Lunch. The first thing yu see when you walk in this place is leave at least a 10% tip. When we walked in we had to guess what to do. No one told us that we had to pay first. They were very rude at the front and didn't say than you! We had to ask 3 times before we got our drinks. The Habatchi bar didn't have anyone at it so we couldn't get any. The food was tasteless. We'll never go back. We go to Peking Buffet on the other side of town. What a difference. There the food is delicious!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“It will be your new favorite local Chinese buffet!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Incredible value, I've never seen a Chinese buffet price this low around here and the lunch price even includes a drink. Hibochi style build your own dish included. There's nothing better than a hot fresh personally grilled meal. It was incredibly clean even the waitstaff was well put together with nice clean uniforms and professionalism. Plenty of choices and most were spot on delicious hot and fresh. My family loves this new joint... still can't believe the Hibochi grill is included what an impressive addition. It will only get better as it's open longer. We were waiting for it for months and couldn't be happier!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Buffet also viewed

 

Been to Golden Buffet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Buffet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.