We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to kayak” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mirror Lake State Park

Mirror Lake State Park
E10320 Fern Dell Rd, Baraboo, WI
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 14 Attractions in Baraboo
Type: Parks, Outdoors
Attraction details
milwaukee, wi
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great place to kayak”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We brought our own kayaks, beautiful scenery. Don't think I'd paddle board here, as I don't think I'd want to get into the water, it's rather weedy and mucky looking. If you have time, head north on the lake, you can easily portage the kayaks at the dam - don't worry, it's not a strong current so you just paddle up to the ramp and carry it down the stairs and put it back in. After a short paddle, you are in the south end of Lake Delton. We were able to get a beer at Ravina bar and grill right across from Tommy Bartlett show, and saw them practicing.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    12
    9
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Nice state park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We liked the hiking trails in this beautiful state park. The campground has nice, shaded sights and each loop has one bath house with a couple showers and flush toilets, otherwise its pit toilets. The lake is beautiful and very calm, so good for kayaking and paddle boarding--they rent them at a reasonable rate near the beach. Beach is nice with sand and grassy picnic area.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumberland, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful State Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Mirror Lake is a beautiful park. The campsites are nice and well-spaced, the hiking trails are good and the beach is large, sandy and shallow. There are no changing rooms at the beach, however. There are bike trails across the, but we didn't have time to try them or to kayak - a reason to come back. The boat rental rates are reasonable. It's a great location if you are going to Lake Delton or Wis. Dells. It's only about 10 minutes away. Also, the staff is very friendly and helpful.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, WI
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Mirror Lake Kayaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Rented Kayaks for the afternoon. It was beautiful. It is first come first serve so we did have to wait a little bit for a kayak to come back so we had enough for all of us. So I recommend getting there early. Might as well rent for the 4 hours because you will want plenty of time! There are a few places along the lake that you are able to pull the kayak up and take a swim if you want. IT was relaxing and without a strong current or any wake you could easily just float for awhile if you wanted to.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle Creek, Michigan
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Rented a canoe, traveled all over the lake. No wake, easy travel, beautiful scenery. Well worth the price. Stunning rock formations, good fishing. Bring the bug spray, though.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mirror Lake State Park also viewed

 

Been to Mirror Lake State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mirror Lake State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.