We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had an excellent Mushroom Swiss Burger” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Broadway Diner

Broadway Diner
304 Broadway, Baraboo, WI
608-356-3287
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 56 Restaurants in Baraboo
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: Fully restored 1954 diner serving gourmet breakfasts.
Reedsburg, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Had an excellent Mushroom Swiss Burger”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

When you get inside you do get the feel of an old style diner. It is cozy, with both booth and counter seating. Service was fast and the cook making the burgers does it right in front of everyone. He does very well with the limited space he has to work in. The cook working the day I was in was very responsible to make sure the food came out right. Also the burgers are hand pattied not a frozen burger so that makes them taste better than a lot of places right there. The portions were just right.

Overall it enjoyed my experience and felt the price was inline for the food I was served. I would go back again next time I am in Baraboo.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    13
    5
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hillsboro, Wisconsin
1 review
“a wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We have been there twice now and plan to return. The menu was great! Not a typical diner by any means. Also it was about the cleanest place Ive ever seen! The food was excellent!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“What a great place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Excellent menu with something for everyone. My husband loved the mac and cheese pulled pork sandwich, definitely an original.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baraboo, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Just OK.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Compared to your choices in the area (which are hardly any), this place is ok. Small menu choices- breakfast EVERY time we've come has came cold. We mostly drive by the place to go elsewhere and not flinch. If you have small kids you get tucked in the 'back'. Requested a particular seat and was told we couldn't sit there "in case" a large party came. No party ever came and I was appalled at how we were told "no" as customers. (We are business owners.) What happened to first come-first served or how about the 'large' party simply waiting? Because of this we will never go back. Never. This place has no consideration other than to 'turn and burn' to make a quick buck-probably because it's so small and cramped.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Wisconsin
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

The food was so good. Got a Wisconsin Burger, it was large and very tasty. Service was super prompt and friendly. Neat atmosphere.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Broadway Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Broadway Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.