We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dark room. Poor cell signal” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ho-Chunk Casino Hotel and Convention Center

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Baraboo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ho-Chunk Casino Hotel and Convention Center
Save
You added Ho-Chunk Casino Hotel and Convention Center to your Saves list
S3214 County Road BD, Baraboo, WI   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Baraboo
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Dark room. Poor cell signal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I opted for "deluxe" rooms. This was quite possibly the darkest room I have ever stayed in. The bathroom was very poorly lit. The main room was poorly lit. The television service was equivalent to a 1-2 star hotel. Room had a nice balcony, thankfully, because that is the only place I could get any AT&T service without going downstairs and out the front door.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gail T, Front Office Manager at Ho-Chunk Casino Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments in reviewing our hotel. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    43
    31
    18
    19
See reviews for
34
80
4
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pleasant Prairie
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

The hotel was very nice but a little expensive. Bathrooms were large and the shower was huge with middle shower head. Beds were very comfortable and room was very clean. We did not have a chance to use the beautiful or the spa. We did before did it was terrific. There is no free breakfast. The gambling was fun but no huge winner. :(

Room Tip: Get a room near the first elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gail T, Front Office Manager at Ho-Chunk Casino Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Terry,

Thank you for you excellent review of our Hotel. We are committed to Customer Service for all of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I travel a lot, and we stayed in room 4107 Queen Deluxe for $139 on a Saturday night. Beautiful room and furnishings. The bed was good and had two pillows each. Nice large walk in rain shower and bathroom. The room was extremely queen and di not hear anyone in neighboring rooms. Will be back.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy D, Manager at Ho-Chunk Casino Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
adolson of Minnesota,

Thank you for the wonderful compliments you provided about your "extra nice hotel room". We appreciate your feedback about your beautiful room and furnishings. Thank you for allowing us to serve you, and please come back soon. Until then we bid you safe travels. Guest comments are welcome and appreciated, and return guests are the ultimate compliment. In the Ho-Chunk language we say "Pinagigi"= Thank you.


Kathy DeCamp
Executive Hotel Manager
1 (800) 746-2486 Ext. 7990
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eustis, Florida
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed in the RV park that's just past the parking lot. It was very costly and though the restrooms were very nice, it was dry, hot ( almost no shade) and desolate. The staff are very nice and the shuttle service is great. But it was a lot of money per night, for few amenities. I do not believe we would stay here again.

Room Tip: The view from the park shows a mostly empty hotel, so if you come after Labor Day you can probably h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gail T, Front Office Manager at Ho-Chunk Casino Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you for visiting Ho-Chunk's RV Park. It was opened in the fall of 2012. It will be so nice and shady as the trees grow. Please give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Ho Chunk Casino Hotel on a recent trip to Wisconsin. We were going to the dells and I didn't want to stay at a water park hotel. After reading the reviews I must say I was a little hesitant to stay here. I am so glad I decided to give it a try. The staff at the hotel were very friendly and we had no issues during check in. When we arrived at room we found it to be very clean, spacious with a nice balcony overlooking the courtyard. The lighting in the bathroom, as others have said is a little dim and I think that could be improved. There is a strong smell of smoke in the lobby area when checking in but I think that anyone has been to a Casino is not surprised by that. Our room however did not smell like anyone had smoked in it. We will go back here if we are ever in the dells again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gail T, Front Office Manager at Ho-Chunk Casino Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you for the positive feedback. We strive for the best Customer Service possible. I hope you come see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I booked a room for 3 nights at this hotel after being told by their reservations people that there was no smoking allowed in the hotel and there were no smells of smoke. Because I have asthma that was critical for me. Our experience was so bad because of smoke that we left after one night to move to the Clarion hotel. The manager was extremely helpful in trying to accommadate our needs but we could not find any area that did not smell like smoke. If you go to the casino and get a 'players card' before checking in you'll get a discount on your room and meals. Do NOT go there if you have any problems with smoke. The smoke there was extreme. The next mistake was eating at the buffet restaurant where there is lots of smoke in the route needed to get there as well as in the restaurant even though it's a non-smoking area. I think it must be too close to the Casino.
When I went to check in I was given an even better rate than quoted by phone.The rooms were very nicely decorated and very attractive. We stayed in a 'Premium Room'. Unfortunately the smoke smells came in through the A/C system and prior guests smoke on their balconies which then gets smoke into your room. It's also possible that guests smoke in the rooms..But the smells of smoke in the room were mild compared to the hallways which reeked of smoke. Three days later, after only that one night in that hotel, I am still sick from the smoke, had to get on steroids and can't stop coughing. If smoke smell doesn't bother you it's a great hotel but I'd recommend a 'Premium Room' as they are nice.

Room Tip: There is no good room if you dislike the smell of smoke. Otherwise the "Premium Rooms' are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We booked the family suite for a wedding at another resport in the Dells area. I called the day before to see if our room would be ready an hour before check in and was told that they would do their best. Upon arrival, 40 minutes before check in, our room was not ready, they were still cleaining it. We left and returned a few hours after check in to get our room keys and the rooms were wrong. We Spent 30 minutes getting it straightened out. We went back to the wedding off site and returned at 2 am to our room from the casino. Upon looking things over, there was trash under the furniture, hair in the bathtub. I did not call housekeeping as it was 2 am. When we checked out in the morning, I told the "Manager" at the front desk after she greeted me with "what's your problem?" She was beyond unprofessional and rude. She told me that they have housekeeping 24 hours a day for that purpose. I told her that our room should have been cleaned BEFORE we arrived, not at 2am. I sent an e-mail to the management and never received a call or e-mail back. This place lacks customer service! We have stayed here before, but will never again.

Room Tip: Rooms are noisy. Very poor sound proofing. You can hear everything that goes on in the hallway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ho-Chunk Casino Hotel and Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ho-Chunk Casino Hotel and Convention Center

Address: S3214 County Road BD, Baraboo, WI
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Baraboo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Baraboo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 302
Also Known As:
Ho-Chunk Casino Hotel Baraboo
Ho Chunk Wi
Ho Chunk Hotel Baraboo
Ho Chunk Casino Baraboo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ho-Chunk Casino Hotel and Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.