We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Casino Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ho-Chunk Casino Hotel and Convention Center

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Baraboo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ho-Chunk Casino Hotel and Convention Center
Save Saved
You added Ho-Chunk Casino Hotel and Convention Center to your Saves list
S3214 County Road BD, Baraboo, WI   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Baraboo
Poynette, WI
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great Casino Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

My wife and I, in our 60's, have stayed at this hotel on numerous occasions. We have always found the rooms extremely clean and well furnished. The bathrooms are modern, some with tiled showers, overhead shower head, lighted makeup mirror, and conscious of environmental concerns. Even the hallways are nicely carpeted and the walls decorated with a similar theme. If you are visiting the Wisconsin Dells area, the hotel is a short 10-15 minute drive away from many attractions. Can't guarantee great wins on their slot machines but can any casino do that? The hotel also has a inside swimming pool, excellent buffet, romantic restaurant, sports bar, and cafe. Keep this hotel in mind when in the area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    41
    31
    16
    19
See reviews for
33
74
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Berlin, WI
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Just called to inquire on reservations for specific date, spoke with Damien in reservations. Had nothing to offer, was very short, rude and really could care less if we made a reservation or not, did not!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed here for my birthday recently. We have been coming here for years and always have enjoyed ourselves. The newly remodeled rooms are great, complete with a rain shower! The beds are comfy, but as others have said lack blankets, Two sheets with a thin gauze like blanket is all that you get and It was below zero while were there and we could have used additional blankets. The casino is big, but very smokey. There is a small non-smoking area. We played the slots for two days and never won anything. It seems like they have tightened them up as we did not see anyone else winning much either. Although we did come across a few excellent employees (Ivan at Copper Oak and the gentleman who took our bags to the room) the customer service has gone from bad to worse lately. I cannot tell you how many rude people we dealt with, from the front desk to the bartenders. It is a shame because they used to have the best customer service around.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the remodeled rooms or a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson wi
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

The room are very nice. We stayed with a coupon otherwise the rooms are in the $130 range. Front desk people range from wonderful to down right rude. Just depends on the day. Hotel room can be far away from the casino. Swimming pool is nice. Several eating options and we have complaints about any of them. Bar and lounge with music on the weekends is nice. Overall very nice.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

The rooms were nice, but lack blankets. The TV is a nice flat screen and the room has free wi-fi.

Casino is excellent, great dealers, wide variety of games. The casino was not overly crowded or overly smokey. The only thing is the beverage service to the tables SUCKED, they just as well not have any. And beware if you want bottle water it's $1.50 a bottle.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

If you want customer service, a casino,endless food, clean rooms and a beautiful facility- THIS IS IT. We stayed here for New Years Eve 2013 and it was wonderful. The staff was friendly and continued to smile even while checking in 1000 people! every where you turned you were treated like royality. I would highly suggest a trip here if you are in the area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

we stayed at ho chuck again in octomber and it was the same.no comp,no comp. the room they gave me was in the codor of the hotel we could not see any thing but the wall, it was very bad i had made rev.early for a special room but they did not give the room i wanted.i will be going back in december i hope it is better this time,

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ho-Chunk Casino Hotel and Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ho-Chunk Casino Hotel and Convention Center

Address: S3214 County Road BD, Baraboo, WI
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Baraboo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Baraboo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 302
Also Known As:
Ho-Chunk Casino Hotel Baraboo
Ho Chunk Wi
Ho Chunk Hotel Baraboo
Ho Chunk Casino Baraboo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ho-Chunk Casino Hotel and Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.