We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great authentic Mexican food, reasonable prices” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Los Nopales

Los Nopales
506 Pine Street, Baraboo, WI
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 56 restaurants in Baraboo
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great authentic Mexican food, reasonable prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

My husband and I go here on average once a month. The menu is practically overwhelming with almost too many choices, all of which sound great. Service is usually quick and friendly. Portions are large, and prices are affordable. Always delicious, I've never disliked anything. I crave it all the time, and would go every week if we weren't trying to save money and be healthy. Hubby always gets fajitas and can't finish it all. Go here!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

70% Recommend
    11
    7
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adams, wi
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Food Service Needs to Improve”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

When in the Baraboo area the wife and I enjoy eating here, but the last couple of times the service has been very poor. The seating is quick and the food order taken but once you get your food the server never came back. Another server came by and we had to ask him for more water and asked where our server was. He didn't know where he went. I did notice that most of the employees were watching tv in the bar area. It seems when scoocer is on, which has happen several times the servers watch scoocer and forget about the customers. Come to realize if scoocer is on to go somewhere else to eat.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, MN
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Won't be disappointed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

I have visited Los Nopales three times over the past couple of months. I've had the nachos del toro (LOTS of GOOOOD nachos), fajitas del toro, and the chimichanga. The "Del Toro" dishes are more than can be eaten by most for one person, so a great value. There's nothing bad that I can say about this restaurant. The food is fabulous . . . not Americanized Mexican but pretty authentic. The portions are LARGE, which is ALMOST the best part. The real best part is the drinks: they make them STRONG. The margaritas are 2 for 1, everyday I think. And they offer a complimentary shot of tequila (sometimes two!) during dinner. The price isn't too bad and they offer coupons and deals in the paper. The servers are awesome and don't come back too often or not often enough. The ambiance and décor are very nice, too. It was great to find this restaurant in Baraboo, and because of the big portions, strong margaritas (TRY THE MANGO!), and great service, we'll be back!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reedsburg, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Never Disappointed?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

This place is very very consistent. The food quality, service and the drinks all are great. You get chips and salsa right away and when you order the rest of your food comes quickly. It is also a great value.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Texas, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“not too impressed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

As a native Texan, I do love good Mexican food, so I was excited to try this new place with a friend. We found the atmosphere bright and colorful. The server was attentive, but could have been more engaging.
Our orders were delivered in good time. However, my chicken enchilada wasn't too exciting. The red sauce tasted more like jarred tomato sauce than anything south of the border. I was not too impressed with the flavors.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Los Nopales also viewed

 

Been to Los Nopales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Nopales, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.