We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“restaurant nice, good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Glacier Rock Restaurant

Glacier Rock Restaurant
630 W. Pine Street, Hwy12, Baraboo, WI 53913
(608) 356-4869
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 55 Restaurants in Baraboo
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“restaurant nice, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

I did like the restaurant and bar- thou it was only opened 1 of the 3 days I was there. Abit pricey- so try to hit happy hour- half price apetizers

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    11
    9
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clemson, SC
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Mixed Feelings”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

On our first night at the adjoining Clarion Hotel we decided to try the restaurant. Since we had been traveling all day we were looking for something light. We decided to try the Duck Strips appetizer and the Nachos with Taco Meat. The Duck strips were deep fried breaded duck. It was very tasty. The nachos left a lot to be desired. First of all, the taco meat was not on/in the nachos. The waitress took it back to the kitchen and shortly returned with the meat on top of the nachos. The nachos looked like everything had been popped in the microwave, overcooked and then placed under the heating lamps. The cheese was way over-melted and tough. Everything, including the meat was dry and unappetizing.

We did eat the breakfast buffet one morning and it was quite good.

My 50th high school class reunion was held in the Atrium Room. The service was good. The only complaint was that the food did not arrive hot. We ordered off the Tuesday night Senior's Menu. The wait staff did their best, but at least our food was not delivered when it was ready.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A surprising hotel restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

We were referred here by the Wallgreen's across the street. I was kinda surprised at being referred to a hotel-restaurant but we went anyway. Lots of flies in the heat of August and they were short staffed, but it was AOK. Food was good and what we expected. Being Wisconsin there was LOTS of food.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Good burgers..drinks pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

I normally eat a whole burger...but I only ended up eating half along with fries and was stuffed. The burger was delicious. We got 3 burgers.. 1 kids burger meal; cheese curds(awesome) 3 beers and a soda..total cost was. 57.00...plus tip was 67.00...a bit pricey to me..maybe not to others.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Best "hotel" food ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

Since we were staying at the adjacent Clarion Hotel, we decided to try Glacier Rock for dinner. You should know that, unless I’m in a huge metropolitan area (i.e. Boston, Chicago, NYC, etc.), I stay away from hotel restaurants, because they usually have food that is not too tasty or seem to be made en mass. Glacier Rock is an eye opener. From the friendly greeting at the door to excellent wait staff service through the food, everything was great. I started my meal with a cup of split pea soup, my very favorite soup. This was easily the best in house made split pea I have ever tasted. My entrée contained two large chicken breast, cooked in olive oil and masala wine. In had a sweetish taste and the chicken was melt in your mouth tender. This came with a side of twice mashed potatoes that were nicely done. My wife had a shrimp special that rested on a plate of rice and fresh cooked vegetables. She also proclaimed here meal as excellent. If we’re in Baraboo again, we will dine here.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glacier Rock Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Glacier Rock Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glacier Rock Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.