We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best beer selection in Baraboo” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Barn Restaurant & Bar

Barn Restaurant & Bar
S5566 State Road 123, Baraboo, WI 53913-9567
608-356-2161
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 61 Restaurants in Baraboo
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Description: http://www.yelp.com/biz/the-barn-restaurant-and-bar-baraboo
Baraboo, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
120 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Best beer selection in Baraboo”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

If you are a microbrew snob, you won't find a more extensive menu of good beer anywhere in Baraboo (or Wisconsin Dells). Also the atmosphere is cozy and friendly and casual - a great place to come on a cold winter night. And you can't beat the outdoor seating in the summer. But the food, well let's just say there's a mismatch between the ambition of the menu and the cook's skill level. The portabella wrap (one of the few things that is vegetarian) drips with grease - yuck! Last time we were there, I had one of their specials - mushroom ravioli. I expected it to be stuffed with a mashed mixture of mushrooms, parmesan or other hard cheese, and herbs. Instead, it was filled with diced marinated mushrooms. Not the right texture for ravioli, in my opinion, and the sauce was bland and unmemorable.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    14
    9
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good beer selection.Average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I order a 25.00 steak and have had better 12.00 steaks else where.But the had a over welming beer list with like a hunderd to choose from.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A nice place to eat a family dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

The facilities were comfortable, the food was good and the service was excellent. We were there on a day when it was record heat of 102, and it was a nice relief to the heat. They had a lot of different food choices, although we didn't visit the bar. The salad bar was tasty, and the main course, was excellent.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
62 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Don't Let the Appearance Fool you”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stopped by for dinner after a day at Devil's Lake State Park. The dinning area is the lower level of ann actual barn. Fairly plain decor and a bit on the dark side as there are no windows.
The food was very good. My wife had the Prime Rib sandwich and it is as good as advertised. I saw that they had Bluegills on the menu and had to give them a try. Perfectly prepared and it comes with choice of potato and a trip to the salad bar.
Beer enthusiasts will find over 200 choices.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Prime rib sandwich …MMMMM”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

My husband said it had to be the best prime rib sandwich he has ever had. Mine was excellent as well…Almost got the ribs…I bet they would have also been good. Next time.
It doesn't look like much from the outside so don't let that deceive you. Good service as well but we went early so not many people there.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barn Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Barn Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barn Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.