We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Let the Appearance Fool you” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barn Restaurant & Bar

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Barn Restaurant & Bar
S5566 State Road 123, Baraboo, WI 53913-9567
608-356-2161
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 54 restaurants in Baraboo
Cuisines: American
Description: http://www.yelp.com/biz/the-barn-restaurant-and-bar-baraboo
Restaurant details
Description: http://www.yelp.com/biz/the-barn-restaurant-and-bar-baraboo
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Don't Let the Appearance Fool you”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stopped by for dinner after a day at Devil's Lake State Park. The dinning area is the lower level of ann actual barn. Fairly plain decor and a bit on the dark side as there are no windows.
The food was very good. My wife had the Prime Rib sandwich and it is as good as advertised. I saw that they had Bluegills on the menu and had to give them a try. Perfectly prepared and it comes with choice of potato and a trip to the salad bar.
Beer enthusiasts will find over 200 choices.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

69% Recommend
    14
    10
    7
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Appleton, Wisconsin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Prime rib sandwich …MMMMM”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

My husband said it had to be the best prime rib sandwich he has ever had. Mine was excellent as well…Almost got the ribs…I bet they would have also been good. Next time.
It doesn't look like much from the outside so don't let that deceive you. Good service as well but we went early so not many people there.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We ate here for a Sunday brunch- kind of neat atmoshere but the food wasn't anything amazing- Log Cabin is much better if you're eatting in Baraboo.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison WI
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Happy accident. Wow.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

My wife and I just picked this place out of a Devil's Lake Park brochure ad. Non-descript on the outside but warm and friendly inside. We were there about 2 pm on a Sunday. Not many customers. We both had sandwiches made with the prime rib, mine was the philly, and were shocked at how good they were. I mean melt in your mouth fantastic. We go to Devil's Lake State Park fairly often and we will definitely be going back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great place to eat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We ate at the Barn Restaurant in Baraboo on a recent weekend visit to the area. There was outside seating and live music, but we opted to go indoors. We both ordered off the light menu, but added the salad bar. Interesting item at the salad bar were the mushrooms-all was very good. Service was excellent and the prices were very reasonable.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barn Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Barn Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barn Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.