We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“phenomenal food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Little Village Cafe

Little Village Cafe
146 4th Avenue, Baraboo, WI
608-356-2800
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 57 Restaurants in Baraboo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“phenomenal food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

It's a nice place converted from a 60's cafe, still has vintage counters and stools. The service was excellent. We ordered edamame beans for appetizer, they were good. Zucchini soup was the only thing we didn't care for much. But Moroccan chicken and cod were superb, the alioli coming with both dishes which was awesome. They also have a good wine list. The prices are little higher than in other restaurants in Baraboo but everything is fresh and simply delicious. It's definitely the best restaurant in Baraboo.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    31
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing food and staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

If you're looking for great food at reasonable prices check this place out. I'm here at least twice a month and don't see stopping anytime soon!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Tast food was my request when I asked a Barabooer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Is someone from Baraboo really a Barabooer? We came to see the cranes and ended up with delicious, unusual and very tasty dining in this special Littl Village Cafe. We eacho had tasty soup, fabulous fish meals and a yummy chocolate bunt cake with the best ice cream I have tasted in years. I would go to Baraboo again just to enjoy the friendly owners, wait staff and guests who also enjoy such tasty food. We stayed to see the movie at the beautiful theater. Will go to see the cranes again.
Went south to Taliesin the next day. OH! Breakfast in Baraboo for more delicious food at a diner stuck in time by looks only. I now consider Baraboo a dining destination!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, WI
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Met up with friends at this quaint little place. The menu was fantastic, not your run of the mill place. We shared the goat cheese appetizer, (great, I am not a goat cheese fan) We both had the salmon fillet sandwich with dill spread.....out of this world! Dessert was a wonderful as the rest of the meal. The staff was so friendly, very clean and very classy.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great ambiance and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Nice art deco café with a unique counter and old time booths. Food is fresh and high quality. Service very good. A nice counterpoint to all of the heat and serve places in the area...

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Village Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Little Village Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little Village Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.