We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy food, Good Price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Farm Kitchen

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Farm Kitchen
5718 Highway 123, Baraboo, WI 53913
608-356-5246
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 63 Restaurants in Baraboo
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Chicago
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Yummy food, Good Price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We choose the Farm Kitchen based on the recommendation on the owners of the Willowood Inn. When we first walked in I was worried. The place was empty and it could use a new coat of paint on the inside. But the service was great and the food was better. Our waiter was unflappable even when our over tired toddler started acting up. We will visit there again next time we are in the area.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank SpazPantzMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Northbrook, Illinois
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Just OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

My husband and I stopped here after a long day at Devils Lake State Park. Since it was late and we were starving we opted for the buffet. It was pretty standard buffet fare. The salad bar had a good selection of salads but the entrees had been in the steam table a while. The only veggie selections were mashed potatoes and corn. I think that there are better options in the area.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Just OK-wouldn't go back”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We were in the Baraboo area and were hungry for dinner. We stopped in the Farm Kitchen to see the menu, and found that they had a buffet. Generally, we prefer buffets when we don't feel like waiting for someone to take our order. Actually, most of the items on the menu were not appealing and were more expensive than the buffet. At least there was some salad items on the buffet to choose from. It was close to the end of the day, and everything looked like it had been there a while, but because of the time of day, we were really limited as to where we could eat, so we decided to stay. From the buffet, I had the baked chicken (very dry), but my husband said the fried chicken was very good. Other items on the buffet included mashed potatoes, stuffing and corn and bread-too many carbs! I loaded up my plate twice with salad (colorless iceberg lettuce) and other items. Desserts were an assortment of pan-type cookies on a table. It was just OK-better than going hungry, but I would not go back.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DonnaPNaperville_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Bland food and dirty restrooms”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Old style restaurant, which would be great if they'd bother to clean it or replace anything from the 50s. The food was bland and anything "fresh" (i.e. not from the buffet) was freezer burned. Not worth it with better restaurants in the area.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank tripadv2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee Wisconsin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nothing stands out except abundance”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012 via mobile

Very typical buffet of abundant average food that sits on a steam tray too long. Nice salad offerings but other vegetables were absent Tired place overall that might be ok for a am alternative to a cookout after camping at nearby Devil's Lake State park.

    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Boots54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Farm Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to The Farm Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing