We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy food, Good Price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Farm Kitchen

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Farm Kitchen
5718 Highway 123, Baraboo, WI 53913
608-356-5246
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 54 restaurants in Baraboo
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Yummy food, Good Price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We choose the Farm Kitchen based on the recommendation on the owners of the Willowood Inn. When we first walked in I was worried. The place was empty and it could use a new coat of paint on the inside. But the service was great and the food was better. Our waiter was unflappable even when our over tired toddler started acting up. We will visit there again next time we are in the area.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

61% Recommend
    10
    9
    5
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northbrook, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Just OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

My husband and I stopped here after a long day at Devils Lake State Park. Since it was late and we were starving we opted for the buffet. It was pretty standard buffet fare. The salad bar had a good selection of salads but the entrees had been in the steam table a while. The only veggie selections were mashed potatoes and corn. I think that there are better options in the area.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Just OK-wouldn't go back”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We were in the Baraboo area and were hungry for dinner. We stopped in the Farm Kitchen to see the menu, and found that they had a buffet. Generally, we prefer buffets when we don't feel like waiting for someone to take our order. Actually, most of the items on the menu were not appealing and were more expensive than the buffet. At least there was some salad items on the buffet to choose from. It was close to the end of the day, and everything looked like it had been there a while, but because of the time of day, we were really limited as to where we could eat, so we decided to stay. From the buffet, I had the baked chicken (very dry), but my husband said the fried chicken was very good. Other items on the buffet included mashed potatoes, stuffing and corn and bread-too many carbs! I loaded up my plate twice with salad (colorless iceberg lettuce) and other items. Desserts were an assortment of pan-type cookies on a table. It was just OK-better than going hungry, but I would not go back.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Bland food and dirty restrooms”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Old style restaurant, which would be great if they'd bother to clean it or replace anything from the 50s. The food was bland and anything "fresh" (i.e. not from the buffet) was freezer burned. Not worth it with better restaurants in the area.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee Wisconsin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nothing stands out except abundance”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012 via mobile

Very typical buffet of abundant average food that sits on a steam tray too long. Nice salad offerings but other vegetables were absent Tired place overall that might be ok for a am alternative to a cookout after camping at nearby Devil's Lake State park.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Farm Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Farm Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;