We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return customers - disappointed this time.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel and Convention Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Hotel and Convention Center to your Saves list
Clarion Hotel and Convention Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   626 West Pine Street, Baraboo, WI 53913 (Formerly Park Plaza)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Baraboo
Henderson, Nevada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Return customers - disappointed this time.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

This was our third stay at the Clarion in Baraboo. It is well located and has a nice restaurant/bar on site, but the quality of the hotel has deteriorated since our last stay, just one year ago. Our room was located on the 4th floor, close to the pool - big mistake! Lots of noise from kids running to and from the pool. To add insult to injury, we were on the same side of the building as the Chasers bar right next door. The bar has a large biker clientele and there was a lot of noise from the bikes in the parking lot outside our windows. I recommend you request a room on the opposite side of the hotel from Chasers!

Cleanliness of the room was an issue - after the room was "cleaned" the first day, my husband found something on the carpeting that had been there before it was cleaned. Also, the coffee pot was not cleaned any of the three mornings of our stay and the coffee supplies were not replenished - I had to call for more coffee.

The complimentary breakfast was very "average" - the good thing was the waffle maker, but the pastries were not fresh and there was no fruit available at all. We passes after the first morning and paid for breakfast somewhere else.

We will find other accomodations on our next trip to Baraboo, which is unfortunate, since we are loyal Clarion customers and had enjoyed our previous stays here.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    50
    36
    15
    10
See reviews for
48
38
7
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Zionsville, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

So we had a trip planned to " The Waterpark Capital of the World" instead of getting 2 rooms we thought a 2 bedroom suite would be a good solution. In the listing it says 2 bedrooms but when we arrived it was one bedroom and then the other bed in the main room. It also said sitting area which I guess meant a chair and ottoman. It was nice to have a fridge but it was a pain to sit on the bed to have to eat anything.
The night staff at the front desk were anything but helpful.
It also dosen't say that the rooms only have window units for A/C which both broke/froze up during our 3 days there.
It is an older hotel that could use some updating.
Next time I would pick another hotel....

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
142 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
250 helpful votes 250 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2010

I stayed one night at this older hotel. Place really needs an update.

Too bad about the bathroom: really small. Sink is just outside in the room. Furniture in the bedroom is cherry coloured wood, including closet.

Window completely opened. Carpet seemed new/just cleaned. Border paper really dates the place.

Pool on 4th floor is square with walls painted to look Greek.. Open till 11pm. Lots of seating and natural light (although separate sundeck above is now closed with a sign about a 'franchise agreement'). Games rooms next door was hot - sealed window. Games really old.

Small second floor fitness has a Weider ftiness station, Nordic Trac eliptical and 2 treadmills. Fitness mat. Water cooler. TV. Sealed window. Nothing to clean equipment. Miroors at your back when using equipment.

There's a 24 hr business centre by the front desk with 2 computers and free printer. If using wireless, you'll need a code from front desk.

Enjoyed the self serve breakfast, which included waffles, cereals, juice, bulk yogurt, pastries.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2009

We needed a smoking double(family suite room) and we got it and it was fine. With exception of sporatic hot water in shower. Couldnt use Jacuzzi because the hot water only came out warm at best.

Our first nite was hell due to the party pple next door at Chasers bar, whos parking lot melds into the hotel lot.
Constant noise all nite then at l a.m. or so the employees and drunks poor out, BUT THEY DON'T GO HOME. They party in both parking lots forever, screaming, honking horns etc. I called down to let the hotel know and they said"we'll see what we can do" which, I guess was very little.
Then the next morning, early, the beer and oil deliveries come in to the bar so, there is little reprieve for the weary traveller. We were told by the hotel that if we wanted a smoking room with a family suite, we'd have to stay on that side.
We also, had the unfortunate luck to be there one nite(in addition to bar noise) when there was a party in one of the hotel rooms on the third floor so as we were going to dinner kids were coming into the hotel with cases of bee etc. By the time we got back to hotel, there were beer cans in the parking lot, kids everywhere, drunk and screaming. Not good. Dont most hotels have non party, good neighbour policies?
The restaurant staff were very very friendly. thats why I rated service as good.
P.S. we were on the 5th floor , I wonder how loud it was for folks below us. Very unfortunate and we are home now catching up on sleep.
P.SS. the pool is still too cold to swim in.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

We went to Baraboo at the beginning of our Dells trip. We spent two nights there and the location was ideal for the day trips we had planned - Circus Museum and Devil's Lake. The price wasn't too bad. The complimentary breakfast was just...sad. I ate it because it was included. The pool was advertised as being heated. It was big enough but the heater was broken (and had been for quite some time). The icing on the cake for me was the gentlemen working the front desk. I refrain from using his name. He was not pleasant. His tone was rude. I booked my reservations with him and checked in with him and asked him questions during our stay. And he always seemed, bothered/annoyed. Had some trouble with the key cards and the key readers to get into the side entrances.
I will say that the restaurant they have in the hotel is excellent for dinner.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2009

I stayed here for a wedding. The rooms were clean, bathroom was decent size. The staff was really nice, they let us borrow markers and such while we decorated for the reception. I have eaten at the resturant twice and they have good food there. The bar is nice and roomy and the staff was great, friendly, and quick. They have a pool, it was really cold though. I am not sure if this was due to the season or not, most people stay in nearby Wisconsin Dells for the waterparks. There is a bar right next to the hotel too, Chasers, and Taco Bell across the street.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merced, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

I am sitting in this hotel room as I write and wishing we had chosen a different hotel. Yes it is clean, and the staff are okay; but the room itself is so small and poorly designed that it makes staying here extremely uncomforatable. The bathroom is so small that a normal size person has to climb into the tub in order to close the door. The bathroom sink has NO counter space. There is an attractive wardrobe instead of a closet, but it is so far from the dressing area of the bathroom that you can't get access to your clothes after a shower. With no countertop space or hooks or anyplace to put anything down; it is extremely inconvient to get dressed after a shower. No privacy in the sink/dressing area of the bathroom which is open to view of the entire room. The ONLY electric outlet we can find is behind the wardrobe on the far side of the room away from the mirror. How are you supposed to plug in the iron, curling iron, etc? The alarm clock was broken the first morning and we requested a replacement. They claimed it had been replaced but it hadn't because it was still set to the same wrong time and the alarm still didn't work. I hate this hotel and would never ever stay here again !

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Hotel and Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel and Convention Center

Address: 626 West Pine Street, Baraboo, WI 53913 (Formerly Park Plaza)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Baraboo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Baraboo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel and Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Clarion Hotel and Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Baraboo
Park Plaza Baraboo
Baraboo Park Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel and Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.