We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thunderbird Motor Inn

Thunderbird Motor Inn
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Thunderbird Motor Inn to your Saves list
Thunderbird Motor Inn
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   1013 8th St, Baraboo, WI 53913   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 Baraboo B&B and Inns
South Milwaukee, WIsconsin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We've been staying here for long weekends about 3 years now. You can't beat the price for the area. The room is very basic, but is clean. We typically visit the area not for the "touristy" stuff, but to enjoy the nearby state park. This place is just perfect for us. The low price allows us to afford several long weekends each season.

Room Tip: The downstairs rooms seem to be the ones that used to be smoking rooms before the ban went into effe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    18
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
11
8
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Illinois, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Had a wonderful weekend in the Dells area watching my son play baseball. It was a last minute decision to make the trip, so I was anticipating paying more for lodging. The Thunderbird was the only hotel I found in the area that didn't "gouge" me on Fri. and Sat. Other hotels had rooms for a good price on Thurs., but then doubled the rate on Fri/Sat. I would have never been able to make the trip if I had not found the Thunderbird. Good, clean room. Quiet, and when I had a problem with internet connection, the owner went out of his way to tell me he would have it fixed shortly(and it was). Thank you!! A very memorable weekend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

The hotel is very basic but if all you need is a clean room, hot shower and comfortable bed this is your place. There is no breakfast provided but there is an ok restaurant next door (4 seasons) which you can get 10% off. Convenient location to Circus World and the best restaurant in the area, the Log Cabin, at $60 a night its worth it!

Room Tip: This place was quiet, we stayed on the second floor. Its a lot less crowded than staying in the Dell...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012 via mobile

All the other reviews are spot on. It's a no frills motel with clean, comfortable rooms. TV channel selection is good and the wifi is faster than any hotel I've ever stayed at (I travel quite a bit). The room has a refrigerator, microwave, and coffee pot. The chair/table area and bathroom (sink is outside the bathroom) is fairly cramped but it's nice to have the table and chairs.

It's a nice motel and worth the price, especially considering the price of Wisconsin Dells attractions near

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

I stayed here for one night the end of May, 2012. It was 'no-frills' but the room was clean and bed comfortable. The room was dated but I felt like I got what I paid for as it was a very economical stay. The owner/staff was very kind. I don't usually like Motels vs. Hotels but again, it was good. It was located next to a restaurant, which I didn't eat at, and gas station etc. so it was convenient.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

A good bargain stay. It's older, and the outside is a bit worn, but our room was large enough to move around in easily, equipped with an adequate fridge and microwave, a big sink area, and a bathtub/shower. The TV was a bit small, but good channel selection. Good workable wifi. Except for a few stains on one of the chairs, all was very clean (including the blankets). No hairdryer, but I got one from the office. Also no breakfast, so factor that into your cost. The area is OK, seems safe. Family restaurant right next door (will give you 10% off your bill when you show your key) and a grocery store next to that. Very quiet. Price is at least $20 lower than the chain places, so if you're just passing through - this place is good.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington Heights, Illinois
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

Not bad at all. Stains on the carpet at room entrance, but clean and nice otherwise. Great price.

Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Thunderbird Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunderbird Motor Inn

Address: 1013 8th St, Baraboo, WI 53913
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Baraboo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Baraboo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Thunderbird Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Thunderbird Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thunderbird Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.