We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful traditional style roadhouse bar/restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coyote Roadhouse

Coyote Roadhouse
3026 Cty Rd E, Baileys Harbor, WI 54202
920-839-9192
Improve this listing
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Illinois
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Delightful traditional style roadhouse bar/restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

A basic little place with great food and a fun rustic atmosphere. We keep going back every time we are in Door County and always have a pleasant time and a great meal. One of those back to home places that always satisfies.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    66
    8
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best fried fish ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

We had gotten several good recommendations for this place and the Friday fish fry got us there. They advertised fried grouper - which we love, but grouper is unusual for the area. It was truly the best fried fish we ever had. It was delicious - very lightly breaded and wonderful. The sides were great also. I had red garlic mashed potatoes and coleslaw that were both very good . It is a pretty small place with tables and booths surrounding the bar and very lively with lots of locals. It was very busy and there was one waitress for the entire place. She was hustling and gave us great service and was very attentive. Atmosphere is very rustic and casual. It was fun and interesting and the food was great. I would love to go back and try some more of their dishes but I know we will be back for the fish!

Visited April 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Friendly service; great burgers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

We stopped here for dinner; there were five in our party, two adults and three kids. The waitress brought out crayons for the kids right away. The atmosphere was very casual, but friendly and welcoming; my daughter spilled her milk but this was not a big deal, although this place has a "pub" atmosphere and what looked to be many regulars drinking at the bar, we were not made to feel unwelcome because we had children. Service was quick and attentive. We didn't order anything fancy; just burgers, salads, and kids' meals; but they were all reasonably priced and good. The burgers in particular were juicy and tasty, served on a toasted bun; and the salads were better than one would expect for a small place like this. I recommend this place to anyone who is looking for a laid back, decent meal that's not too expensive. We'll definitely be back!

  • Visited March 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“They have solid ribs, if you like fall of the bone”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

We were told to go to the Coyote Roadhouse for ribs, fall of the bone style, and we were not disappointed. This place is off the beaten path a bit but does have some good food. The ribs were good, not mind blowing, but good solid bbq. They also crank out some good onion rings in a loaf pan. Good stuff.

My one ding was with the hostess/possible owner and servers. It felt a little like they were just trying to turn tables. One of the ladies clearing tables was throwing the contents of the water/drink glasses over the deck railings, in an attempt to clear the tables faster. I don’t mind you guys turning a table but if I’m eating don’t start emptying drinks over the railing right next to me. But if you’re looking for solid food in a relaxed atmosphere you should check out the Coyote Roadhouse

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Americana Still Exists at Coyote !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2010

Stopped at this lakeside "roadhouse" w/ my wife and daughter. We had a drink on the deck and watched kids play out back then ate inside.

I've been in foodservice since, ... well, forever, and thought the place looked cool/retro when driving by, sort of like out of a movie. Had to check it out.

Coyote could be one of those last remaining true Americana roadside eateries/bars. The staff was like family and the food surprisingly good. Yes my wife inhaled the ribs but the chicken was fingerlickin' too. And the hearty drinks must be a local legend.

Funny bartender from somewhere in Mass. w/ a "wicked" accent was downright entertaining and seemed like one of the characters right out of that Red Sox / Fenway Park movie w/ the Jimmy Fallen guy from Sat Nite Live. If he's still there try and get him going, he's a hoot!

Go for Fun, Stay for Food !

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coyote Roadhouse also viewed

Baileys Harbor, Door County
 

Been to Coyote Roadhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coyote Roadhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.