We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem, Even in the Off-Season” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blacksmith Inn On the Shore

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Baileys Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blacksmith Inn On the Shore
Save
You added Blacksmith Inn On the Shore to your Saves list
8152 Highway 57, P.O. Box 220, Baileys Harbor, WI 54202   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Holiday Shoppers Special
Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Gem, Even in the Off-Season”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

My husband and I stayed at Blacksmith for two days shortly before Christmas. It was just a delight (so much so that we're going back this year!). The buildings were decorated beautifully for the holidays and therefore, smelled of apple cider and pine. Our room was small, but lovely and smartly organized. The cider was delicious. The cookies were delicious. The popcorn was delicious. I should also note that the innkeepers were incredibly helpful in finding meals and spa treatments for us (in the offseason, not to mention days before Christmas, just about everything is shut down in Baileys Harbor). Stay at Blacksmith. It's fab.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    9
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
111
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Illinois
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

Spent 3 August nights at the Blacksmith Inn because of a promotion that came with purchase of our BMW, giving us a free night at a Select Registry Property. We were most pleasantly surprised and quite happy that we decided to spend our 20th anniversary at the Blacksmith Inn. If you want a clean modern place to relax and be away from it all in most comfortable surroundings, this is it. Beautifully furnished with really good beds. While Bailey's Harbor is not touristy like much of Door County, it does have some interesting shops and restaurants and very easy travel access to the busier towns on the Bay side of Door County. This area is a bicyclists dream...quiet picturesque backroads, Penninsula State Park bike trails, good restaurants to ride to for lunch, good bike shops, etc. We stayed in two different rooms on the lower and upper floors and found it to be a toss-up as to which room we'd return to in the future. Basically, you can't go wrong staying here.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
las vegas, nv
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2010

Blacksmith Inn was a beautiful b&b - so relaxing and quiet. Of course, we were there during the off season in the middle of the week, so we had the whole place to ourselves. I loved the antique/primitive/americana decor - fits right in with the atmosphere of that part of Wisconsin. They also had great amenities - good selection of movies, snacks and drinks - I think I drank a whole gallon of hot apple cidar while watching our movie! Fireplace was a plus, especially since the night got cool - because it warmed up the room so well, we were able to keep the patio door open at night so we could listen to the lake. I also liked that we could eat our breakfast in our room - which we did on the outside balcony. The views were great from the balcony - sunrises and sunsets were beautiful. Definitely a place you want to go if you need some relaxation, a romantic getway, or just to get away from it all. If I'm ever in the area again, this is where I'll be staying!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2010

Tired and looking for place to stay after a long day of driving we pulled in, not thinking there would be vacancy with the parking lot filled. We entered to the wonderful aroma of fresh granola baking. This was the first thing that lured us but seeing what a treasure it is on the inside was the next thing. We only stayed one night, in room #5. What a restful night's sleep in a warm, cozy, well-designed room. Great whirlpool tub out in the room just feet away from the gas fireplace. We purchased a bottle of wine from downstairs and stepped out onto our private balconey to a lovely, peaceful view of the Harbor. The next morning we ate the fresh granola out on the patio and it's as if the birds chirpped on queue. What a beautiful place. Rate was $225 per night, not low-end but for a special stay, it is special indeed.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2010

Very nice B&B, and we have stayed at several of the very best. The room looked exactly as it does on the Inn's website. Everything was very clean. My wife complained about the shortage of shelf space in the bathroom, but I had no problem with it until she started using mine. (Double pedestal sinks.) The breakfast looked good, but we opted for one at a restaurant down the street, for which we had a coupon. The staff was very pleasant. We will almost certainly return.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlacksmithInnkeeper, Owner at Blacksmith Inn On the Shore, responded to this review, April 3, 2011
Many thanks to this guest for his comments about bathroom shelf space. Our carpenter installed 2 additional shelves in each bathroom in the Harbor House this winter. Unfortunately we were unable to sort out a way to add shelf space in the smaller bathrooms in our historic Zahn House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2009

My wife and I stayed here for our 20th anniversary. It is an awesome bed and breakfast. Great snacks 24 hours of the day. Great foods for breakfast. Nice view and shoreline with private dock to sit on.

Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2009

We stayed at the Inn for four nights of our honeymoon (room #9 in the Harbor House).
I'm an aesthete and it's hard for me to relax if things aren't "right". Well, things are "right" at The Inn on the Shore! I've stayed at many B&B's, this would need to be placed in my top five favorite stays!
There are two buildings; one original to the property and remodeled as a B&B, and the other building (harbor House) is new construction, but so beautifully matched to 1700s/1800s New England architecture that you feel you've stepped back in time. Every detail is in place in these rooms and the modern conveniences are tastefully worked-in or disguised.
Breakfast was EXCEPTIONAL for our needs and tastes. Mostly whole and organic foods; hard boiled eggs, their home-made granola (which we've made at home twice) cheeses, fruit, goat milk yogurt, "Naked" pureed fruit drinks + more. Breakfast is buffet style in the lobby with generous trays provided so you can return to your reasonably-private balcony for breakfast.
Fresh popcorn is ALWAYS available in the afternoon and into the evening (home-made on the stove) as well as cranberry oatmeal cookies. There is a FULL lending library of movies - some very current/recently-released movies included.
The grounds are filled with tasteful and beautiful plantings and they share some freshly-cut stems in your room.
There was loud road construction going on on the main road through town and right next to the Inn, but it was easy to ignore in those surroundings!
We would return to the Inn as a destination! Worth every penny!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blacksmith Inn On the Shore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blacksmith Inn On the Shore

Address: 8152 Highway 57, P.O. Box 220, Baileys Harbor, WI 54202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Baileys Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Baileys Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awaken to the sound of waves lapping the shore. Linger over breakfast as the morning light glistens on the water. Kayak the harbor, bike to a lighthouse, stroll the village or just laze in your hammock. Fifteen deliciously private guest rooms each with in-room whirlpool, fireplace, private balcony, view of the harbor, satellite TV/DVD, ipod hook-up, wireless internet, complimentary use of bikes and kayaks and bottomless cookie jar. Romance & relaxation are yours in the heart of Door County. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blacksmith Inn On The Shore Hotel Baileys Harbor
Blacksmith Inn On The Shore Baileys Harbor, Door County, WI

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blacksmith Inn On the Shore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.