We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, service, and atmosphere!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harbor Fish Market and Grille

Harbor Fish Market and Grille
8080 State Highway 57, Baileys Harbor, WI 54202
+1 920-839-9999
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Wentzville, MO
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great food, service, and atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

My husband and I were here for lunch. I ordered the quiche and my husband had a hamburger. We both enjoyed our meals. The views outside while we were eating were pretty!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen B, Owner at Harbor Fish Market and Grille, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review here! Your comments are appreciated -- and we sincerely hope to see you again soon! Best wishes and we hope you have a great summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    63
    40
    16
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good food, but that's it.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

Had a nice walleye dinner which was tasty and nicely presented. That's about all that was good. The atmosphere was a downer, primarily because the guests near us were talking loudly about tasteless topics. The staff did not greet us on arrival or on leaving. The waiter was attentive but a fake type of friendly. For the price, I would go someplace else.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen B, Owner at Harbor Fish Market and Grille, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
My, it certainly doesn't sound like you had the type of experience here that we pride ourselves on. I would love to get more details from you -- like day you were here and who your server was -- so we can discuss your issues and address them right away. I would love it if you would write to me personally at berndt.karen@gmail.com. Please know that we always try to greet people when they arrive and when they depart -- and that we try to provide the best in service. I do appreciate that you took the time to write a review and we do take your comments seriously. I hope to hear from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The best restaurant in a Door County!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

My family has vacationed in Door County for five generations! My parents lived there and had a shop so suffice it it to say I know the territory. Harbor Fish Market and Grille is the Gold standard of service, excellence in great food and over the top owners and staff! Carl and Karen are what makes Door County my favorite place in the world: the real deal serving over the top food in a great setting! Tony made us feel at home as he served us not once but two nights in a row! The traditional New England Lobster Boil dinner was hearty and great tasting. Blackened whitefish, the lobster soup and the cherry bread pudding was spectacular! Suffice it to say we are raving fans of Harbor Fish Market and Grille! Gary and Barb

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen B, Owner at Harbor Fish Market and Grille, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review! Tony is great and we intend to keep him on forever! I will share your comments with the rest of the staff -- and we sincerely hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baileys Harbor, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Food- Historic Setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Love to visit the Fish Market. Owners and staff are always welcoming. My favorite meals are breakfast (AM sun on the lake is gorgeous.) and lunch (some of the best soup ideas ever!). I'm not big on going out for evening meals. Try the French toast with cherries; it's a treat, especially outside on a sunny morning in summer.

Also love the old building's past -- dance hall, movie venue, tavern and more. The bar is an old Brunswick, the floors are original, the ceiling is the original tin. Great atmosphere.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen B, Owner at Harbor Fish Market and Grille, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Loved your review! We are so glad that you enjoy our historic building also. It is now over 105 years old -- and still going strong. The only building of that age in the county still being used for basically it's original purpose. We hope that you will join us again this year! Thanks so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheboygan, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Mediocre Food + Terrible Service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

We had been to the Harbor Fish Market a half dozen times and had a pleasant experience each time. This time, the waitress' behavior was nothing short of hostile. She even rolled her eyes at my wife when we requested a substitution. She was slow and the food was cold with one order incomplete. Too many other good options in DC to waste a meal at this place again.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen B, Owner at Harbor Fish Market and Grille, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
I am sorry that you had such a disagreeable visit! And, please know that your opinion matters greatly to us and we pride ourselves on our good food and service. I would like to hear more details -- and would like to address your concerns directly with the server. I note that you were here in December and didn't write a review until April -- so it definitely stayed in your mind. Please drop me a note at berndt.karen@gmail.com and let me personally discuss this absolutely unacceptable service with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harbor Fish Market and Grille also viewed

Baileys Harbor, Door County
 
Baileys Harbor, Door County
Sister Bay, Door County
 

Been to Harbor Fish Market and Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbor Fish Market and Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.