We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We want to go back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harbor Fish Market and Grille

Harbor Fish Market and Grille
8080 State Highway 57, Baileys Harbor, WI 54202
+1 920-839-9999
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Menominee
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“We want to go back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

We made reservations after finding that instead of the usual fish boil they did an actual lobster boil. Treated my son as a birthday gift, hubby for fathers day. Do not miss this place, not out of the way and Ohhh so good. Thanks to Carlos and Chris our Bartenders & Servers. The price was very good, live Maine Lobster with all the fixings, couldn't finish dessert.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    62
    40
    16
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Defiance, Missouri
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent food and location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

Harbor Fish Mkt and Grille was very good. Very quaint yet elegant. The lunch menu offered many options. I had the grilled salmon burger and it was delicious. At first I was unsure because initially the service seemed a bit lacking, but once we were waited on we were well taken care of, and the food replaced any concerns we had. We ate outside and it was a beautiful day - great patio area on the water. Loved it - would definitely return.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elm Grove, WI
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Burger at the Bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

Went to the Harbor Fish Market with our daughters. They offer a special at the bar for a cheeseburger and fries for $6. It was excellent. This is the 2nd time that we have gone. The manager (I think) with the pink shirt didn't give us the time of day but the rest of the staff was excellent. Highly recommend.

P.S. The also offer a breakfast special at the bar too.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“It was fine, but just fine....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

First of all, the location on Lake Michigan is nice, and this place is over on the "quiet side" of Door County.
This restaurant has a bar area and dining room are quite nice. It just looks like you're in for a treat when you walk in.
Despite our showing up during the prime dinner hour without a reservation, there were plenty of tables available. As nice as it was inside, we chose to sit outside, which happens to allow pets, though none were there when we were. We had a very helpful and pleasant server that offered up very nice conversation. I guess that can be done when things aren't that busy. My wife ordered a salmon dish, which she really enjoyed, and I had the lobster boil, which was just fair. The lobster itself was good, but the mussels, clams and potatoes not good and the corn should never have been served. My dish did come with a lobster bisque, which I had to surrender to my wife since it was her birthday. I suggested simply ordering another, but noooooooooo. I guess it tastes better when you bum it off someone else. Anyway, the fews tastes I did get were really good.
I did finish things off with their bread pudding, which I highly recommend.
Overall, the prices were quite high for what we got. I would say go there if you want a nice atmosphere and don't mind paying a little more for what might be so-so food.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Random Lake, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best birthday dinner ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

This restaurant is a quiet gem! You enter through a fascinating bar area which opens into a serene dining room. There is the option to eat outside, but we chose to stay inside. Although this was fine dining, the dress was casual, but not sloppy. Because it was a special occasion for us, we dressed up somewhat but did not feel out of place.

This was our second visit and the food did not disappoint either time. It was perfectly prepared. I had salmon which is often overcooked, but this was gorgeously prepared with fantastic grilled vegetables and baked potato. Just outstanding. The wait staff was gracious and efficient - friendly and helpful with suggestions. I loved this experience both times I've eaten there, and will definitely return the next time I'm in Door County.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harbor Fish Market and Grille also viewed

Baileys Harbor, Door County
 

Been to Harbor Fish Market and Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbor Fish Market and Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.