We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The quintessential Door County resort...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gordon Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Gordon Lodge to your Saves list
Gordon Lodge
1420 Pine Drive, Baileys Harbor, WI 54202   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
scottsdale, az
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“The quintessential Door County resort...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2010 via mobile

The quintessential Door County resort. Perched on the edge if North Bay, this resort has everything you need for a vacation by the lake. There are both standard hotel rooms and comfy cottages, all with views and some with fireplaces. The resort has a beach and pier, with kayaks, paddleboats, and jet skis available without extra charges. There are several miles of wooded trails, and bikes for rent. A nice lakeside restaurant with an outdoor fire pit and outdoor deck, complete with free music on Wednesdays and Sundays. An idyllic outdoor setting ! An excellent comlimentary breakfast. Would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a northern Wisconsin vacation.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    26
    6
    4
    3
See reviews for
44
33
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, WI
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2010

IF YOU ARE CONSIDERING PLANNING A SPECIAL EVENT AT GORDON LODGE, PLEASE READ MY REVIEW AND RETHINK YOUR DECISION. In July 2009 my fiancé and I reserved Gordon Lodge’s event center for our June 2010 wedding. My parents signed a legal contract and made a down payment. In February 2010, 7 months after we signed the contract and only 4 months before the wedding, Gordon Lodge contacted us and told us we couldn’t have our wedding there because the space was double booked. After speaking to the owner of Gordon Lodge we learned that the people taking our spot were personal friends of the owner. He opted to disregard our contract and bump our wedding from their calendar. My family, fiancé, and I were shocked at the brazen disrespect that Gordon Lodge showed towards its contracted clients. Working with Gordon Lodge was a disturbing and extremely unpleasant experience. I strongly recommend that you save yourself the headache and heartache that my fiancé and I went through and choose a different location.

Stayed February 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrtBaileysHarbor_Wi, owner at Gordon Lodge, responded to this review, February 22, 2010
While the situation of double booking is an event holders biggest nightmare it is obviously worse for those who have put their trust in you.
We are truly sorry that we have caused this problem and wish that the party involved would have been able to take advantage of the alternatives we offered.
I do take exception to the suggestion that we made anything less than an objective choice for we did not. We just discovered our mistake recently and did the only thing we could which was to honor the first reservation and notify the other party with our options,which they could not accept.
There is no way in this situation to make both parties happy.
We have never had this happen to us before and have taken steps to insure it will not happen again.
We realize that a wedding day is one of the most important days in a persons life and I sincerely wish we could have made this one more pleasant for those involved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2009

Pros: Many free amenities. Great quiet location and view.
Cons: Some rooms were a little outdated.

This was my first time back to Door County since I was a child and I'd have to say that I developed a great appreciation for the area. Compared to the other lodges in Door County, Gordon Lodge is by itself overlooking North Bay. The location is great for it's not far from the more crowded areas such as Sister bay. If you're looking for a getaway that's not too crowded I'd say this place is for you.

Cabins: We actually booked one of the cheaper cabins, due to availability, within view of the lake and first I'd like to say; spend a little more and upgrade to the lake view. It's well worth it. The cabins on the exterior overlooking the lake were all newer units with upgraded furniture and the works. Our unit on the interior had a slight odor and all the furniture was outdated a bit dingy. The interior cabins were also smaller in size and a bit tight for family of 4. Other than that, I'd say the amenities and tranquility of the lodge made our stay worth while.

Amenities: Some the of highlights that our family enjoyed the most the free bike rentals and water sports. The place is pretty much self-serve. They have bike lot that you can help yourself to a bicycle of your choice and they even have their own bike trail on their property. Our family all took out bikes and explored the forest via their trail. It was a great family experience that we'll never forget. As far as the water sports, we paddle boated, kayaked, and row boated throughout North bay. The water was so clean that you could see the bottom of the lake even far out into the bay. Many individuals went as far as jumping into the lake. Motor boats and jet ski's were also available for an additional charge. They also have new tennis courts and basketball courts available for use.

Dining: The Events center has a wonderful breakfast buffet every morning which had great food. Even better, they have a restaurant, Top Deck, located on their property with tasty food and spirits. I had their steak burger and it was great! Some nights they have free music while you dine and it's great to sit back, relax, and enjoy the music and sunset over the lake.

Overall, I'd recommend this stay. it was the first time in awhile that I really felt like I got away away. I work in the tech industry and perhaps it was a blessing that I did not have internet access during my stay. Definitely a change of pace in our busy lives.....

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2009

Stayed for a long weekend wedding in one of the cabins on the bay side. The locals in the area mentioned there had been many upgrades recently and they were evident upon our arrival, everywhere except the cabin. Nice duplex cabin, awesome picture window in livingroom and porch looking out at the bay. Charming overall. The wedding process was smooth and the couple seemed happy with the service level. Main meeting room is very nice and adjustable for multiple group settings (meals, dancing) with it's own bar. The single bar was great, stayed open late each night for our group. Main hotel I didn't see into but the check-in area was very modern swanky. Pool, row boats, kayaks and many entertainments around for guest to use. No complaints from the guest! Thanks for hosting a great wedding!

  • Stayed May 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2009

We had a family wedding at Gordons Lodge and it was great! The event center, lodge, restaurant, fitness room, pool, grounds, tennis courts, beach area are all great. The cabins that have been remodeled are also great. The problem is that some of the cabins are still un-renovated and you could wind up in cabin hell. We had both an old cabin and a new cabin and there is no comparison. Be very careful when you book that you do not get one of the old cabins. But for this I would have rated Gordons five stars.

Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
green bay wi
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2009

Went up to stay and visit some friends that work there, it was so beautiful. Enjoyed bike trails, watching the sunset on the paddle boats, the bar and lounge area by the pool were maginificent the staff was overly friendly, and enjoy getting exercise in the fitness room, and playing tennis. Looks like they just renovated the place. Would stay again anyday, loved it!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2008

There are so many accommodation to choose from when we wanted to go to Door County. We were attracted by Gordon Lodge's advertisement in the Door County magazine. it is situated on a perfect location for a quiet retreat. We were not dissapointed.

We stayed in one of thier newly renovated lodge room. It is cozy and contemperory, which is excatly what we like. our room has a lake view with a patio with lounge chairs. We could walk out from our room and the beautiful, peaceful Lake Michigan is right there. The bedding is brand new and very comfortable. However, next time we will request for room 119, which is at the corner of the building. It has extra windows.

The compound of the lodge is so big and the management offers so many free amenities to keep you busy that you can practicular stay in without going out. Free kayaks, paddle boats, bicycles, miles of walking trail, the beach, heated pool, heated whirl pool, restaurant...perfect for a family getaway or a spiritual retreat.

The staff are friendly and helpful. That completes the great expereice of our stay in Gordon Lodge.

  • Liked — the location right at Lake Michigan. tucked away from the busy tourists hot spots.
  • Disliked — the tiny bathroom in our room
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gordon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gordon Lodge

Address: 1420 Pine Drive, Baileys Harbor, WI 54202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Baileys Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Baileys Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a uniquely intimate waterfront resort that includes 300ft. private beach, 5-miles of nature trails, heated pool and hot tub, fitness center, tennis, fishing, kayaking, internet and buffet breakfast. Enjoy an award-winning menu and cocktails on property at Top Deck Restaurant. Select lodge rooms and cottages with water views, suites adjacent to a pristine forest, and coming soon a 5-bedroom house gracing the shores of Lake Michigan. Gordon House Event Center, an elegant venue for weddings and special events, seats up to 250 guests. Witness incredible starry nights and gorgeous sunrises and sunsets as you enjoy tranquility and beauty matched nowhere else in Door County. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Gordon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gordon Hotel Baileys Harbor
Gordon Lodge Baileys Harbor, Door County, WI

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gordon Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.