We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Orphan Annie's Schoolhouse Inn

Orphan Annie's Schoolhouse Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Baileys Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Orphan Annie's Schoolhouse Inn
Save
You added Orphan Annie's Schoolhouse Inn to your Saves list
8097 School St., Baileys Harbor, WI   |  
Hotel amenities
Halstead, Kansas
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here every summer, for about the past 15 years, and wouldn't go anywhere else. The rooms are large, impeccably clean and have nice decks. And, yes, Loren and Annie have rules, but that's one reason we stay there. It's just very nice and quiet, and you won't find nicer rooms and better value.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    1
    1
    3
    2
See reviews for
1
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pewaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I could not have been more pleased with our stay at this inn! From contacting Loren about the room and details to the incredibly clean rooms and grounds. Loren and his wife were very very nice and happy to help you in any way. A lot of charm to this old school house turned inn. Yes the floors are squeaky, but it's part of the charm. We stayed in the Homestead Suite which we thought was a fantastic room in back and upstairs. Well appointed with fridge, wet bar (with dishes, glassware and utensils) as well as a private deck with private entry. Very comfy bed and a joy to be in the room. They have a nice selection of DVD and VCR recordings to use at no cost as well as many magazines and books, fire pit available, and grilling in the park next door.
We read the negative reviews, and let me tell you, those guests must have been disruptive for Loren to speak to them as they say he did. We found he and his lovely wife to be extremely nice and friendly. We hope they keep the inn as long as possible because we will never stay anyplace but their inn! Fantastic room at a very fair price. (NOTE: Loren will require 50% down by personal check then the remainder of the balance in cash or check upon check in). If you are looking for a nice quiet and very comfortable inn, this is the place!
All the towns on the west side of the county are only 10-15 minutes drive on some of the most beautiful country roads you will ever travel. You will enjoy your stay here!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I just arrived home from my first stay here. I was slightly hesitant upon my arrival after reading the reviews. I will say that as a WEEKLY business traveler for 5 years I have never seen a cleaner room!
We stayed in the Homestead Suite. It was super quiet at night. Baileys Harbor is on the quieter side of the peninsula, but it's a short ride to any Door County town.

I believe the bad reviews from others are from people who shouldn't be booking a quiet B&B. These places are not for gathering 15 people in your room. I dread the dance/cheerleader/etc groups when traveling. They are usually disturbing to others in one way or another.

The floors are squeaky, but most old B&B's have squeaky floors or other architectural challenges. It's what makes it a charming stay.

I encourage others to stay here if a quiet and clean place is what you want.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mokena, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Only complaints were the horribly squeaky floors and the worn out bed. You roll to the middle of the bed. Also the bed is advertised as "Queen size". It is a full size bed, not a queen size. The room (Upper Deck) was nicely decorated and comfortably furnished. We weren't given any "rules" and the owners seemed fine. One telling point might have been that this property was not sold out and it was Labor Day weekend. Most other Door County places were sold out for the weekend. All-in-all not bad except for the squeaky floors. Ugh!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

We found Orphan Annie's at Bailey's Harbor and wanted to reserve for mid July 2013 for a dance festival in Door County. We talked to the innkeepers on Sunday, July 15, 2012 and reserved a room and wrote a check for 1/2 of the amount. We were given the "rules" of no more that 2 guests for only 1 hour and that they must register to do so. Insurance was the reason. At that point, Loren could not access his 2013 calendar in the computer so he said he would sent us the receipt in the mail.

I picked up some information for our fellow dance friends so they could also reserve here on Monday for 2013. When they arrived, Loren told them he was full for those dates in 2013. (How was that possible if he couldn't access his 2013 calendar the day before?) He also informed them that we would not be staying there as well! (Shocking news to us!).

Several days later we received our check in the mail with a short handwritten note on yellow scratch paper stating that they were returning our check due to "prior committments". No other apology or explanation. We felt quite sad and really wanted to stay in this lovely place.

Then I went to reviews and found that others had experienced far worse than us!
This seems to be standard operating procedure for people who might come with a group and want to get together. We found this very strange. We have stayed at a number of places in Door County over the 25+ years that we have attended our dance event and never have encountered this kind of business practice. So sad!

Room Tip: We saw three rooms and they were all very nice and well decorated. Each had a small deck and with b...
See more room tips
Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

If you don't need a lake view, this is a lovely place to stay. It's one block out of the center of town, so you can walk to the lake in minutes. The old converted school house is on a park and very quiet. The rooms are large and comforable, each with porches. They don't serve breakfast, but they have all you need to prepare on in the room. They do not clean the rooms each night, which was fine with us. The owners are very nice, chatty folks, who take care of the lovely plantings all around the property. We stayed a week and found it a very comfortable and very well priced play to stay.

Note: There are a number of bad reviews by a small group of one time posters, all involving some purported policy against vistors. I've no idea what that is about, but I think those reviews should be read with great suspicion. I've posted many, many reviews on trip advisor, and have no idea what this small group of one time, negative posters are talking about.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

My warning system went on alert immediately as there were notes with rules pasted all over the room, including cleaning the shower stall every day. Some friends of ours live in the area and wanted to see the room. Oh my lord, you think we were having a bachelor party the way Loren reacted. We were lectured and scolded as if were children. I promised him it won't ever happen again because we won't ever come back. He has no aptitude for working in the "hospitality" business.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Orphan Annie's Schoolhouse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orphan Annie's Schoolhouse Inn

Address: 8097 School St., Baileys Harbor, WI
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Baileys Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Baileys Harbor
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Orphan Annie's Schoolhouse Inn Baileys Harbor, Door County, WI

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orphan Annie's Schoolhouse Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.