We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding service for large parties” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mountaineer Hotel

Mountaineer Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Williamson
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mountaineer Hotel
Save
You added Mountaineer Hotel to your Saves list
31 East Second Avenue, Williamson, WV   |  
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Williamson
Berea, Kentucky
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Outstanding service for large parties”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

Here in town to study the array of social enterprises that make up Sustainable Williamson with a gang of 20 visitors. Warm welcome at the desk. Clean, tidy rooms, each one representations a distinctive community character or celebrity. I wish they would move away from styrofoam cups and plastic and align with the Sustainable Williamson values and principles.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    15
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
6
2
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Berea, Kentucky, United States
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

The mountaineer hotel is a traditional, elegant, and antique like hotel in the middle of downtown Williamson. When I first arrived I did not think the rooms would be modernized at all. However, I was surprised and it was a really nice stay. The only thing I disliked was the Wi-FI connection. It was not strong and all nor consistent. Overall I would say it is a hotel more for people by themselves or even on business.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berea, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Mountaineer Hotel is furnished with marble floors and huge chandeliers. The rooms may not be all that exciting, but they're spacious with a living room area. The staff is friendly. The internet was spotty, and there was no continental breakfast. The hotel has a cute little chapel for prayer, but it doesn't have a pool or a fitness center.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berea, Kentucky, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Walking into the Mountaineer Hotel is like taking a step back in time. From the old style hotel mailboxes to the grand entrance chandeliers I found myself falling in love with this hotel. The staff was courteous and was very helpful. We stayed in the JKF Suite on the 4th floor and it was huge and very nice. The beds were amazingly comfortable and lobby area was inviting. The internet was a little difficult to connect at first, which a bit of a displeasure, but if you were to rate the hotel on it's purpose it definitely deserved the 5 stars I have rated it. Some may not like this fashion of a hotel, but I found it unique and offering of history.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berea, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

this hotel is located in a small beautiful town in Williamson, West Virginia. this hotel looks like it is from the past because it has its classical beauty that reminds me of 1940s country town. the town and the hotel looks beautiful. also the inside hotel looks very classical, but it does not mean it was uncomfortable because this hotel has been maintained well as I stay for a night. also the room was very comfortable and cozy than I expected. I slept well. there is some old smell in the hotel but it is not big deal to me. if you stay in Williamson, west Virginia, or if you are passing there and if you need a place to stay, i recommend here for you

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamson, West Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I just checked into this hotel with my friend. The rooms are very spacious. A two bedroom have a separated wall for privacy of both guest and i love it. Its very quiet and good place to relax. The TV have good channels and the bathroom is really clean.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berea, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The hotel is a very comforting place. It has a nice atmosphere and has a record of the famous people who have stayed here. They even name the room after the celebrity who stayed there, which, I found quite intriguing. The one thing I did not like was how easy it is to get lost on the floor. The bed rooms are not all clearly marked. If they fixed this,then I would rate higher ( next time around)!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mountaineer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountaineer Hotel

Address: 31 East Second Avenue, Williamson, WV
Location: United States > West Virginia > Williamson
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Williamson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountaineer Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.