We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good. At all.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Granny's House Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Granny's House Restaurant
38154 Midland Trail East, White Sulphur Springs, WV 24986
(304) 536-2361
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Shaker Heights, OH
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Not good. At all.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

The atmosphere is awful and the food is bad. I had a burger that tasted like grease. The fried pickles and the sweet tea were okay, but everything else was really bad. I heard breakfast is better than lunch at this tourist trap.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    4
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good country fair”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Great fried chicken. Loads of good food for someone looking for a "down home" meal.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, WV
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“What fun!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

We stopped here on our way to the Greenbrier. Since we knew we were going to be eating "high on the How" for the next 48 hours, we thought we would experience this place which is very close to the Greenbrier entrance. At first it appeared to be a normal diner, until the food was delivered. The food was very good and we all were very pleased with everything! The three pancakes were excellent and the size of a dinner plate at a cost of $2.99. They were so good we even had our waitress ask the cook what was the secret ingredient, and they sent out the package for us to see what made them so good. We all ordered the same thing, with some having bacon and others having hashbrowns. The little gift shop was so much fun to find little out of the way items, like "road kill jelly" and unique, fun souvenirs from WV.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“plain food nothing fancy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

Ate here three times while staying at the Greenbrier. Breakfast was very good. My husband had the catfish and did not like it at all. I had a hot dog. It was good but the chili and the slaw were a little runny so it turned into a big mess and I ended up eatting it with a fork.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good breakfast at a fair price!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011 via mobile

Enjoyed my breakfast ....eggs cooked as requested! Short drive (about 3 miles)from the Greenbrier Resort!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Granny's House Restaurant also viewed

White Sulphur Springs, WV
White Sulphur Springs, WV
 
White Sulphur Springs, WV
White Sulphur Springs, WV
 

Been to Granny's House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Granny's House Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.