We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want local this is it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 50 East

50 East
50 East Main Street, White Sulphur Springs, WV
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Duncansville PA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“If you want local this is it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

When visiting an area I prefer to go to the places the locals go. This place was recommended to me by a local I met while walking through town. I asked for directions to another restaurant which he did not know of and then recommended 50. Great buffalo wings and chicken caesar salad (homemade dressing). This place makes all their own dressing, soups and sauces but thankfully it is not homestyle cooking. I definitely recommend this place.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    10
    5
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mathews, Virginia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Ok quick meal.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stopped by 50 East Sunday evening because it was late and not else much was open. The restaurant/bar was nice. We both ordered the steak and they came out the way we ordered. The steaks were okay, kind of reminded me of a mom and pop diner. The salads were perfect, tasted freash and crispy. The sides were great. Mac and cheese and the coleslaw tasted home made. If you go there give it a try.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great casual spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stopped in on a Saturday evening following a WVU home game. Perfect time for casual dining with friends and family. Delicious appetizers, sports on TV and good service from friendly staff. Penne Pasta was delicious, as we're salads. Good sized servings, fair prices. Not fancy but good food and fun.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisburg, West Virginia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Five of us had dinner. While the appetizers were tasty, the entrees were a mixed bag. One pasta dish was good, the crab cakes were fair at best, and two orders of the fish and chips were well over cooked and the fish was tough. Our server was friendly, but very unprofessional and obviously inexperienced. It is a popular watering hole since the drinks are reasonable. The main dining area is very noisy and the restaurant is more of a sports bar. There is an outdoor seating area in the rear of the restaurant that would be quieter, but, against county laws, smoking is allowed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best wings ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stopped into 50 East while traveling through White Sulphur Springs, truth be told we just needed to use the restroom, but decided to stay for a drink. Ended up staying for about 2 hours, sampling appetizers And chatting with the staff. Needless to say we loved this place! The wings were on special for 50 cents each, and I have to say that they were the best wings I have ever had. You must try the sweet and spicy bone-in wings, and the garlic Parmesan boneless wings! The bartender and locals were so friendly, we had a blast in there! Returned the following week and tried the pizza, which was excellent as well. Highly recommend 50 East!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 50 East also viewed

White Sulphur Springs, WV
White Sulphur Springs, WV
 
White Sulphur Springs, WV
White Sulphur Springs, WV
 

Been to 50 East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 50 East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.