We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy and rustic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The James Wylie House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in White Sulphur Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The James Wylie House
Save
You added The James Wylie House to your Saves list
208 East Main Street, White Sulphur Springs, WV 24986   |  
Hotel amenities
Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
232 helpful votes 232 helpful votes
“Cozy and rustic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Cozy and rustic.

We wanted to experience the atmosphere of an old cabin and this is exactly that. We stayed for three days in their cabin and the minute we stepped in we felt like going back in time. Well, of course with all conveniences of modern living. Downstairs has sofa, fireplace, TV, kitchen corner with fridge and dining table, but it still feels like being there 100’s years back. It is the log walls, decoration and small pieces of furniture, which gives the cottage overall traditional feeling. Upstairs is bedroom with queen bed and single bed. See pictures. Crooked, sloped floor is a reminder that you are in a cabin built 1794.

We did not hear dog’s barking as someone said and cabin is actually very quiet even when sitting outside since it sits behind the main house, further from the main town street. We had to use AC (upstairs only), but opening on the 2nd floor lets cool air to come down too. It was as quiet as they come for window unit and sufficient enough for 90F heat wave we had encountered for few days.

Other reviews correctly praise homemade served breakfast and pleasant company of Monica and her father. Her blueberry pancakes were amazing. This was really a treat and unique to any place we visited before (350 cities 53 countries). We did not see the inside of the house and other bedrooms. But as you can see there is a good reason why this place so far does not have any rating below 4 stars. Free wireless internet does not reach inside of the cabin well, but it has sufficient strength already when sitting just outside on the rocking chairs. For the best reception go to the main porch of the house with tables chairs and swinging bench. Since this property is in the town, there are some places you can eat as Monica (the owner) will advise you and there is always the opulent Greenbrier (1mile) if you are willing to splurge. This B&B is located conveniently close to many attractions as pointed out by other reviewers. Greenbrier (don’t miss the Bunker Tour), caves, river trail, town of Lewisburg and more.

In conclusion, privacy and ambiance of a rustic cabin, exceptional breakfast and friendliness of the owner made this a perfect 3 day stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
13
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
baltimore, md
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

This is a wonderfully kept and managed bed & breakfast in a lovely section of West Virginia. Three of us spent two nights and found the visit a totally positive experience. Monica, the proprietor, has extensive knowledge of the region, its restaurants and attractions. The breakfasts were expansive and beautifully prepared and presented.

The James Wylie house is a treat.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Illinois, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed in front room on second floor and thoroughly enjoyed innkeeper Monica and her dad Carl. The front porch, bedrooms and common areas are quite charming and reflected the historic landmark character of this home. We stayed 3 days and each breakfast was better than the next. There was plenty to eat and everything was delicious. Monica and Carl were friendly and very knowledgeable about the area. We enjoyed a wonderful time and felt most welcome.

Room Tip: Each of the 3 rooms I looked at was great. We liked the second floor front bedrooms which had air c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandenburg, Kentucky
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

As soon as we arrived, Monica treated us like family. The rooms were large and very clean. There were several sitting areas on the first floor but we choose the front porch to sit on and enjoy the evening. The breakfast was delicious: blueberry pancakes, freshly made blueberry syrup, fruit, tomatoes, bacon, chocolate chip muffins, orange juice and coffee, served on the front porch. If you're in the area, we highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, MA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed at the James Wylie House for 2 nights in August 2012. The room was large, and very comfortable. Ceiling fan and air-conditioner if needed. Monica took great care of us. The breakfasts were delicious. The mountains are spectacular.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westwood, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed on the third (top) floor of this 1819 brick historic home, and enjoyed every minute! The top floor is a two bedroom suite - one has 2 double beds and the other has a queen. Both have in-room air conditioners, exposed timber ceilings, wide pine floor boards, and share a comfortable bathroom. Monica, the Innkeeper, and her father are very engaging with conversation and lend a nice touch of local West Virginia hospitality, as well as wonderfully prepared breakfasts!
In addition to the third floor 2 bedroom suite, there are at least 4 other rooms available at this Inn.
Monica is a wealth of information on local shops, restaurants, attractions, and hometown economic development.
A wonderful alternative to the beautiful Greenbrier Hotel, at half the price.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed the weekend at the James Wylie House to celebrate our 2nd anniversary. We wanted to get away to a quiet, relaxing place in the beautiful West Virginia mountains, and this place did the trick! At about half the cost of the cheapest room at the nearby Greenbrier, we received personalized and friendly service, a comfortable room, and delicious homemade breakfasts! We spent the day sightseeing in nearby Lewisburg (tons of nice shops, restaurants, and historical landmarks) and taking a bunker tour at the Greenbrier (a must). We went back to Lewisburg to eat dinner at Food & Friends, a great recommendation by innkeeper Monica! Our breakfast favorites were the mixed berry pancakes and peach cobbler! Both nights we were there, the weather was so perfect we were able to turn off the A/C, open our windows, turn on the fan and enjoy the cool mountain air!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The James Wylie House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The James Wylie House

Address: 208 East Main Street, White Sulphur Springs, WV 24986
Location: United States > West Virginia > White Sulphur Springs
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in White Sulphur Springs
Number of rooms: 5

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The James Wylie House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.