We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellnt Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The James Wylie House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in White Sulphur Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The James Wylie House
Save Saved
You added The James Wylie House to your Saves list
208 East Main Street, White Sulphur Springs, WV 24986   |  
Hotel amenities
baltimore, md
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellnt Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

This is a wonderfully kept and managed bed & breakfast in a lovely section of West Virginia. Three of us spent two nights and found the visit a totally positive experience. Monica, the proprietor, has extensive knowledge of the region, its restaurants and attractions. The breakfasts were expansive and beautifully prepared and presented.

The James Wylie house is a treat.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
11
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Decatur, Illinois, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed in front room on second floor and thoroughly enjoyed innkeeper Monica and her dad Carl. The front porch, bedrooms and common areas are quite charming and reflected the historic landmark character of this home. We stayed 3 days and each breakfast was better than the next. There was plenty to eat and everything was delicious. Monica and Carl were friendly and very knowledgeable about the area. We enjoyed a wonderful time and felt most welcome.

Room Tip: Each of the 3 rooms I looked at was great. We liked the second floor front bedrooms which had air c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandenburg, Kentucky
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

As soon as we arrived, Monica treated us like family. The rooms were large and very clean. There were several sitting areas on the first floor but we choose the front porch to sit on and enjoy the evening. The breakfast was delicious: blueberry pancakes, freshly made blueberry syrup, fruit, tomatoes, bacon, chocolate chip muffins, orange juice and coffee, served on the front porch. If you're in the area, we highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, MA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed at the James Wylie House for 2 nights in August 2012. The room was large, and very comfortable. Ceiling fan and air-conditioner if needed. Monica took great care of us. The breakfasts were delicious. The mountains are spectacular.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westwood, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed on the third (top) floor of this 1819 brick historic home, and enjoyed every minute! The top floor is a two bedroom suite - one has 2 double beds and the other has a queen. Both have in-room air conditioners, exposed timber ceilings, wide pine floor boards, and share a comfortable bathroom. Monica, the Innkeeper, and her father are very engaging with conversation and lend a nice touch of local West Virginia hospitality, as well as wonderfully prepared breakfasts!
In addition to the third floor 2 bedroom suite, there are at least 4 other rooms available at this Inn.
Monica is a wealth of information on local shops, restaurants, attractions, and hometown economic development.
A wonderful alternative to the beautiful Greenbrier Hotel, at half the price.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed the weekend at the James Wylie House to celebrate our 2nd anniversary. We wanted to get away to a quiet, relaxing place in the beautiful West Virginia mountains, and this place did the trick! At about half the cost of the cheapest room at the nearby Greenbrier, we received personalized and friendly service, a comfortable room, and delicious homemade breakfasts! We spent the day sightseeing in nearby Lewisburg (tons of nice shops, restaurants, and historical landmarks) and taking a bunker tour at the Greenbrier (a must). We went back to Lewisburg to eat dinner at Food & Friends, a great recommendation by innkeeper Monica! Our breakfast favorites were the mixed berry pancakes and peach cobbler! Both nights we were there, the weather was so perfect we were able to turn off the A/C, open our windows, turn on the fan and enjoy the cool mountain air!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Terrific Find!!!! Our first stay to the white sulphur springs area,had a business meeting at the nearby Greenbriar Inn. Would not have stayed anywhere but the James Wylie Inn. We stayed in the cabin a must!!!! Very comfortable, clean, and inviting. Monica the innkeeper and her father are a delight, wonderful gourmet breakfasts on the main porch of the house were amazing, we could have stayed on the porch the whole day, great conversation and and the feeling we have made 2 new friends!!! They are very knowledgable about the area. Used their guidance for area restaurants. We are for sure planning to book another stay,The greenbriar is completely overrated and overpriced and very dated. There are much better choices in the area to stay, also in the neighboring town of Lewisburg .

Room Tip: The cabin is wonderful adjacent to the main house
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The James Wylie House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The James Wylie House

Address: 208 East Main Street, White Sulphur Springs, WV 24986
Location: United States > West Virginia > White Sulphur Springs
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in White Sulphur Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The James Wylie House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.