We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget Friendly Alternative to Greenbrier” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The James Wylie House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in White Sulphur Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The James Wylie House
Save Saved
You added The James Wylie House to your Saves list
208 East Main Street, White Sulphur Springs, WV 24986   |  
Hotel amenities
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Budget Friendly Alternative to Greenbrier”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed the weekend at the James Wylie House to celebrate our 2nd anniversary. We wanted to get away to a quiet, relaxing place in the beautiful West Virginia mountains, and this place did the trick! At about half the cost of the cheapest room at the nearby Greenbrier, we received personalized and friendly service, a comfortable room, and delicious homemade breakfasts! We spent the day sightseeing in nearby Lewisburg (tons of nice shops, restaurants, and historical landmarks) and taking a bunker tour at the Greenbrier (a must). We went back to Lewisburg to eat dinner at Food & Friends, a great recommendation by innkeeper Monica! Our breakfast favorites were the mixed berry pancakes and peach cobbler! Both nights we were there, the weather was so perfect we were able to turn off the A/C, open our windows, turn on the fan and enjoy the cool mountain air!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
11
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Terrific Find!!!! Our first stay to the white sulphur springs area,had a business meeting at the nearby Greenbriar Inn. Would not have stayed anywhere but the James Wylie Inn. We stayed in the cabin a must!!!! Very comfortable, clean, and inviting. Monica the innkeeper and her father are a delight, wonderful gourmet breakfasts on the main porch of the house were amazing, we could have stayed on the porch the whole day, great conversation and and the feeling we have made 2 new friends!!! They are very knowledgable about the area. Used their guidance for area restaurants. We are for sure planning to book another stay,The greenbriar is completely overrated and overpriced and very dated. There are much better choices in the area to stay, also in the neighboring town of Lewisburg .

Room Tip: The cabin is wonderful adjacent to the main house
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012 via mobile

Lucky for us, we were able to reserve the entire main house when we needed to be in the area for a wedding. If the cabin had been available, we would have booked that too. Unfortunately, our overflow had to stay at a nearby motel.

The rooms were great and the breakfast was over the top! No one went away hungry, that's for sure.
We enjoyed White Sulphur restaurants and Lewisburg was close by and we explored its many interesting shops and historic sites. The James Wylie house was a perfect "base camp" for our two night stay... We just wish it could have been longer!

(We had five couples in the main house and it worked perfectly! We will long remember this wedding weekend.)

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern IN
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

This easy to find B&B is a great old home with wood floors and feels like you go back in time to the old south. Our room was very nice with a private bath and small shower. The bed was a bit hard for my taste, but we had a very good stay. Breakfast was very good in the morning and Monica is a gracious host and full of information. Less than a mile from the Greenbrier and very close to charming Lewisburg. I would recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morehead City, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

A group of three of us visited in September, 2011 while in the area for a conference at the Greenbrier. It was about a mile to the Greenbrier, which made it very convenient. Breakfast was wonderful with a great assortment of fruit, banana walnut pancakes, etc. I stayed in the 1792 cabin which is for lack of a better term, rustic, cute! It was beyond charming and I intend to bring my husband for a weekend get away. Both the main house & cabin were very clean & well stocked with absolutely anything you could want. I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: If you are a tall person the main building may be a better choice as the doorway & stairs in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allons, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay in this historic home. The innkeeper, Monica was very friendly. We all enjoyed our talks with her. The breakfast had a very good variety of items to suit everyone's taste. I would highly recommend you staying here.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2010

The James Wylie House is a nice alternative to staying at The Greenbrier for those without limitless funds. The location of the bed and breakfast is very close to the Greenbrier and also to the surrounding towns such as Lewisburg. Monica, the innkeeper, and the friendly Wylie cat greeted us upon arrival, and Monica was very knowledgeable about the area and helpful with restaurant choices. The 200-year-old inn was very clean and well kept. The fruit, vegetable frittata, and homemade toast for breakfast were delicious.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The James Wylie House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The James Wylie House

Address: 208 East Main Street, White Sulphur Springs, WV 24986
Location: United States > West Virginia > White Sulphur Springs
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in White Sulphur Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The James Wylie House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.