We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must see!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The James Wylie House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in White Sulphur Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The James Wylie House
208 East Main Street, White Sulphur Springs, WV 24986   |  
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A must see!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Terrific Find!!!! Our first stay to the white sulphur springs area,had a business meeting at the nearby Greenbriar Inn. Would not have stayed anywhere but the James Wylie Inn. We stayed in the cabin a must!!!! Very comfortable, clean, and inviting. Monica the innkeeper and her father are a delight, wonderful gourmet breakfasts on the main porch of the house were amazing, we could have stayed on the porch the whole day, great conversation and and the feeling we have made 2 new friends!!! They are very knowledgable about the area. Used their guidance for area restaurants. We are for sure planning to book another stay,The greenbriar is completely overrated and overpriced and very dated. There are much better choices in the area to stay, also in the neighboring town of Lewisburg .

Room Tip: The cabin is wonderful adjacent to the main house
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
9
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Morgantown, West Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012 via mobile

Lucky for us, we were able to reserve the entire main house when we needed to be in the area for a wedding. If the cabin had been available, we would have booked that too. Unfortunately, our overflow had to stay at a nearby motel.

The rooms were great and the breakfast was over the top! No one went away hungry, that's for sure.
We enjoyed White Sulphur restaurants and Lewisburg was close by and we explored its many interesting shops and historic sites. The James Wylie house was a perfect "base camp" for our two night stay... We just wish it could have been longer!

(We had five couples in the main house and it worked perfectly! We will long remember this wedding weekend.)

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern IN
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

This easy to find B&B is a great old home with wood floors and feels like you go back in time to the old south. Our room was very nice with a private bath and small shower. The bed was a bit hard for my taste, but we had a very good stay. Breakfast was very good in the morning and Monica is a gracious host and full of information. Less than a mile from the Greenbrier and very close to charming Lewisburg. I would recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morehead City, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

A group of three of us visited in September, 2011 while in the area for a conference at the Greenbrier. It was about a mile to the Greenbrier, which made it very convenient. Breakfast was wonderful with a great assortment of fruit, banana walnut pancakes, etc. I stayed in the 1792 cabin which is for lack of a better term, rustic, cute! It was beyond charming and I intend to bring my husband for a weekend get away. Both the main house & cabin were very clean & well stocked with absolutely anything you could want. I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: If you are a tall person the main building may be a better choice as the doorway & stairs in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allons, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay in this historic home. The innkeeper, Monica was very friendly. We all enjoyed our talks with her. The breakfast had a very good variety of items to suit everyone's taste. I would highly recommend you staying here.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2010

The James Wylie House is a nice alternative to staying at The Greenbrier for those without limitless funds. The location of the bed and breakfast is very close to the Greenbrier and also to the surrounding towns such as Lewisburg. Monica, the innkeeper, and the friendly Wylie cat greeted us upon arrival, and Monica was very knowledgeable about the area and helpful with restaurant choices. The 200-year-old inn was very clean and well kept. The fruit, vegetable frittata, and homemade toast for breakfast were delicious.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2010

Spent the evening at this charming B&B. We stayed in the cabin on the property which was quite quaint, historic and tastefully decorated. We were in White Sulphur Springs to take in the bunker tour at the Greenbrier so it was very convenient in location. We were warmly greeted by the innkeeper/owner who took the time to explain the history of the property, particularly the cabin which I found interesting. The morning of our departure we were treated to a very nice breakfast and pleasant conversation. We enjoyed our stay, although other than the bunker tour we didn't get to explore that area as much as we would have like to. The only negative I can identify had nothing to do with the Inn. At 6am, the dogs from a neighbor's yard started barking for a period of about 10 minutes. A bit early for my taste. That same neighbor had the brightest porch light on their property that "bled" onto the Inn's, although it did not enter the cabin. Perhaps neither would impact the stay at the inn's proper itself. Overall, a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The James Wylie House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The James Wylie House

Address: 208 East Main Street, White Sulphur Springs, WV 24986
Location: United States > West Virginia > White Sulphur Springs
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in White Sulphur Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The James Wylie House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The James Wylie House to your Saves list