We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice B & B” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The James Wylie House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in White Sulphur Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The James Wylie House
Save
You added The James Wylie House to your Saves list
208 East Main Street, White Sulphur Springs, WV 24986   |  
Hotel amenities
Southern IN
Level Contributor
156 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Very Nice B & B”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

This easy to find B&B is a great old home with wood floors and feels like you go back in time to the old south. Our room was very nice with a private bath and small shower. The bed was a bit hard for my taste, but we had a very good stay. Breakfast was very good in the morning and Monica is a gracious host and full of information. Less than a mile from the Greenbrier and very close to charming Lewisburg. I would recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank karensSouthernIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Morehead City, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

A group of three of us visited in September, 2011 while in the area for a conference at the Greenbrier. It was about a mile to the Greenbrier, which made it very convenient. Breakfast was wonderful with a great assortment of fruit, banana walnut pancakes, etc. I stayed in the 1792 cabin which is for lack of a better term, rustic, cute! It was beyond charming and I intend to bring my husband for a weekend get away. Both the main house & cabin were very clean & well stocked with absolutely anything you could want. I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: If you are a tall person the main building may be a better choice as the doorway & stairs in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Brenda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allons, Tennessee
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay in this historic home. The innkeeper, Monica was very friendly. We all enjoyed our talks with her. The breakfast had a very good variety of items to suit everyone's taste. I would highly recommend you staying here.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TennesseeReiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2010

The James Wylie House is a nice alternative to staying at The Greenbrier for those without limitless funds. The location of the bed and breakfast is very close to the Greenbrier and also to the surrounding towns such as Lewisburg. Monica, the innkeeper, and the friendly Wylie cat greeted us upon arrival, and Monica was very knowledgeable about the area and helpful with restaurant choices. The 200-year-old inn was very clean and well kept. The fruit, vegetable frittata, and homemade toast for breakfast were delicious.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank CasualObserverMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2010

Spent the evening at this charming B&B. We stayed in the cabin on the property which was quite quaint, historic and tastefully decorated. We were in White Sulphur Springs to take in the bunker tour at the Greenbrier so it was very convenient in location. We were warmly greeted by the innkeeper/owner who took the time to explain the history of the property, particularly the cabin which I found interesting. The morning of our departure we were treated to a very nice breakfast and pleasant conversation. We enjoyed our stay, although other than the bunker tour we didn't get to explore that area as much as we would have like to. The only negative I can identify had nothing to do with the Inn. At 6am, the dogs from a neighbor's yard started barking for a period of about 10 minutes. A bit early for my taste. That same neighbor had the brightest porch light on their property that "bled" onto the Inn's, although it did not enter the cabin. Perhaps neither would impact the stay at the inn's proper itself. Overall, a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank richb06092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2010

Stayed here for one night over the memorial day long weekend. This B&B was a great stay. Monica (the manager) was very friendly and helpful and made you feel welcome (and prompty responded to my emails due to time difference. There was breakfast in the morning designed to meet your diet (skipped it because was in a rush - but the other guests seemed to be really enjoying breakkie out on the front porch). The house had a country feel. The bathroom was small but adequate. There was a small A/C that struggled a bit with a very warm day and night and being an old house (almost 200years) there is a bit of creaking on the wooden floorboard - but hey, it adds character. Overall, it was a really pleasant stay. Recommended.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wv
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2010

My Husband and I stayed in the cabin behind the house and it is just charming. It was built in the 1800's you must see to appreciate. Everything had its own place and it was also decorated very nice one of my favorite things was the claw foot tub to relax in. Everything was spotless the linen was fresh and Monica prepared a delicious meal for us the next morning. I felt like royalty!!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank luv2bikeWv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White Sulphur Springs
7.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
Hampton Inn Lewisburg
#1 of 7 in Lewisburg
4.5 of 5 stars 279 reviews
7.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lewisburg
7.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lewisburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 7 in Lewisburg
3.5 of 5 stars 141 reviews
8.9 mi away
Motel M Lewisburg
Motel M Lewisburg
#7 of 7 in Lewisburg
3.0 of 5 stars 24 reviews
16.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Covington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The James Wylie House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The James Wylie House

Address: 208 East Main Street, White Sulphur Springs, WV 24986
Location: United States > West Virginia > White Sulphur Springs
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in White Sulphur Springs
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing