We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The James Wylie House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in White Sulphur Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The James Wylie House
Save
You added The James Wylie House to your Saves list
208 East Main Street, White Sulphur Springs, WV 24986   |  
Hotel amenities
Allons, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Friendly place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay in this historic home. The innkeeper, Monica was very friendly. We all enjoyed our talks with her. The breakfast had a very good variety of items to suit everyone's taste. I would highly recommend you staying here.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
11
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2010

The James Wylie House is a nice alternative to staying at The Greenbrier for those without limitless funds. The location of the bed and breakfast is very close to the Greenbrier and also to the surrounding towns such as Lewisburg. Monica, the innkeeper, and the friendly Wylie cat greeted us upon arrival, and Monica was very knowledgeable about the area and helpful with restaurant choices. The 200-year-old inn was very clean and well kept. The fruit, vegetable frittata, and homemade toast for breakfast were delicious.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2010

Spent the evening at this charming B&B. We stayed in the cabin on the property which was quite quaint, historic and tastefully decorated. We were in White Sulphur Springs to take in the bunker tour at the Greenbrier so it was very convenient in location. We were warmly greeted by the innkeeper/owner who took the time to explain the history of the property, particularly the cabin which I found interesting. The morning of our departure we were treated to a very nice breakfast and pleasant conversation. We enjoyed our stay, although other than the bunker tour we didn't get to explore that area as much as we would have like to. The only negative I can identify had nothing to do with the Inn. At 6am, the dogs from a neighbor's yard started barking for a period of about 10 minutes. A bit early for my taste. That same neighbor had the brightest porch light on their property that "bled" onto the Inn's, although it did not enter the cabin. Perhaps neither would impact the stay at the inn's proper itself. Overall, a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2010

Stayed here for one night over the memorial day long weekend. This B&B was a great stay. Monica (the manager) was very friendly and helpful and made you feel welcome (and prompty responded to my emails due to time difference. There was breakfast in the morning designed to meet your diet (skipped it because was in a rush - but the other guests seemed to be really enjoying breakkie out on the front porch). The house had a country feel. The bathroom was small but adequate. There was a small A/C that struggled a bit with a very warm day and night and being an old house (almost 200years) there is a bit of creaking on the wooden floorboard - but hey, it adds character. Overall, it was a really pleasant stay. Recommended.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wv
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2010

My Husband and I stayed in the cabin behind the house and it is just charming. It was built in the 1800's you must see to appreciate. Everything had its own place and it was also decorated very nice one of my favorite things was the claw foot tub to relax in. Everything was spotless the linen was fresh and Monica prepared a delicious meal for us the next morning. I felt like royalty!!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2010

We have stayed at the Wylie House for three years each summer and you can't find a better host than Monica and the food is amazing. The house is well kept, the cabin they offer is rustic and comfortable and really puts you back in time. A great choice for families or a couple retreat.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2004

We stayed at the James Wylie House Aug. 17-18, 2004. The innkeeper, Monica, greeted us on arrival and showed us where we would be staying--the log cabin in the backyard. It was perfect, especially since we have an active 2 year old. The cabin was very clean and included a kitchenette, general room, and one bedroom/bathroom upstairs. Queen bed was comfortable and child had choice of port-a-crib or twin bed in our room. The inn is about 20 minutes from the W.Va. state fair, and a great place to stay if headed to the fair. Breakfast each morning was tasty and unique. Overall a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed August 2004
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The James Wylie House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The James Wylie House

Address: 208 East Main Street, White Sulphur Springs, WV 24986
Location: United States > West Virginia > White Sulphur Springs
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in White Sulphur Springs
Number of rooms: 5

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The James Wylie House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.