We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Mason Jar Restaurant

The Mason Jar Restaurant
62 E. Main Street, White Sulphur Springs, WV 24986
+1 304-536-5001
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $29
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Barbecue, Hamburgers
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Georgetown ky
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Horrible!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Came here based on the good reviews. Worst food mistake of our lives! Fried Buffalo wings were bad quality and fatty. They were soft and greasy. My dad found plastic in his burger. Service was laking. Took them forever to get simple things and when they did they messed them up. We were constantly correcting their mistakes. Just simply gross. We weren't expecting fine dining. Just a quick bite to eat but instead we wasted two hours waiting for a disgusting meal. I would have rather eating at a fast food chain.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WV-Chef, Owner at The Mason Jar Restaurant, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for your honest feedback. I sincerely apologize that your dining experience did not meet ANY of my standards. I was out of restaurant on a catering and your experience has confirmed that my recent decision to reduce hours to enable myself and my lead chef to oversee all operations in kitchen and instate a general manager to manage to wait staff was on point. The staff over past weekend was more inexperienced than I realized and unable to handle the volume of customers we encountered with the football scrimmage. Staff members have also gone through an intensive re-training this week. I am hoping these changes, which were implemented this past Monday, will prevent experiences such as yours and enable us to focus on quality food and service for all our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    29
    20
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Unique restaurant situated in a quaint town with delicious food. The burger and fried chicken are my personal favorites. The sweet tea is true southern sweet tea and delicious! A buffet is sometimes offered as well. Service was good too.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairborn, Ohio
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We looked for casual dinner spot in White Sulphur Springs. Mason Jar had good recommendations on Trip Advisor. they were justified. good food at good prices. 'Mason Burger' is a great burger.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great local lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

After spending a few days at The Greenbrier, we were looking for a quick lunch at a local restaurant before leaving town. The service was fast and friendly, the food was great, and the price was very reasonable. If you want a quick meal while in White Sulphur Springs or a break from the pricey restaurants at The Greenbrier, this is a good choice.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great dinner at a neighborhood gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Had a delightfully delicious dinner. Quaint atmosphere and the food was great! So glad we made the journey from Beckley. The next time I come in from Lexington, I hope we'll make the journey over to White Sulphur for another delectable meal! Our waiter was an added bonus - courteous and astute! Completely satisfied!
-Rebekah

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mason Jar Restaurant also viewed

White Sulphur Springs, WV
White Sulphur Springs, WV
 
White Sulphur Springs, WV
 

Been to The Mason Jar Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mason Jar Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.