We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really fun experience with terrific food and value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mason Jar Restaurant

The Mason Jar Restaurant
62 E. Main Street, White Sulphur Springs, WV 24986
304-536-5001
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $5 - $29
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Hamburgers, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
lynchburg, VA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Really fun experience with terrific food and value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

I am from Charleston WV and my sister still lives there, so White Sulphur is a half way place to meet for lunch. We came here for the first time this morning, and were blown away by the nice servers, terrific food, and general wonderful WV laid back time. we now have a regular place to meet for lunch or dinner, and I imagine this place gets really busy a lot of the time. Critics of the ambience need to get a life, and enjoy a warm and friendly environment with excellent service and food in a quaint and basically struggling community. White Sulphur is really lucky to have a restaurant of this quality stic around in the midst of so many empty store fronts downtown.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    29
    16
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
philadelphia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“lunch here beats the expensive greenbrier”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

run by one of the chefs at the greenbrier, it is good American food for a lot less. down home and rustic but staff very pleasant

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Quaint”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

The food was good on the lunch bar. The BBQ chicken was awesome. A really nice waitress helped us in finding some shopping.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotts Valley
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
“Popular and Tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

I had an early lunch there during the first week in October. Their $8.99 lunch buffet looked intriguing. The soup was worthy of seconds and the fried chicken excellent. The salad bar was about average. There are a limited number of selections in the buffet, but there were more than enough to satisfy me. Everything I tried was well-prepared and tasty.
The restaurant started filling up while I was dining and looked to be all locals. Always a good sign for good food at a reasonable price. The service was both efficient and friendly. I would happily return the next time I'm in WSS.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Must try the fried tomato sandwich!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

Great cost effective lunch. Walk into town from the Greenbrier (easy walk) and enjoy this little spot.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mason Jar Restaurant also viewed

White Sulphur Springs, WV
White Sulphur Springs, WV
 
White Sulphur Springs, WV
White Sulphur Springs, WV
 

Been to The Mason Jar Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mason Jar Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.