We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Mason Jar Restaurant

The Mason Jar Restaurant
62 E. Main Street, White Sulphur Springs, WV 24986
304-536-5001
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $5 - $29
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Hamburgers, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Quaint”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

The food was good on the lunch bar. The BBQ chicken was awesome. A really nice waitress helped us in finding some shopping.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

76% Recommend
    38
    27
    15
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scotts Valley
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
“Popular and Tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

I had an early lunch there during the first week in October. Their $8.99 lunch buffet looked intriguing. The soup was worthy of seconds and the fried chicken excellent. The salad bar was about average. There are a limited number of selections in the buffet, but there were more than enough to satisfy me. Everything I tried was well-prepared and tasty.
The restaurant started filling up while I was dining and looked to be all locals. Always a good sign for good food at a reasonable price. The service was both efficient and friendly. I would happily return the next time I'm in WSS.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Must try the fried tomato sandwich!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

Great cost effective lunch. Walk into town from the Greenbrier (easy walk) and enjoy this little spot.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, FL
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great Food ...Reasonably Priced”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

After enjoying the Bunker Tour at the Greenbrier, we looked for a place close by to get some lunch. It was late afternoon so there was no wait; however, tables started to fill up as we approached dinner time. There was a buffet offered but we ordered off of the menu. The cobb salad was fresh and tasty with plenty of chicken. The Philly Cheesesteak was also very tasty. Others in the group had the chicken & dumplings and loved them. The portions were plentiful and we even brought home a nice portion of the cobb salad.

Our server was pleasant and efficient. She readily refilled our drink glasses.

We wanted to order Coconut Cream Pie but they had just served the last two pieces to another table. We opted for warm apple pie with ice cream. A great way to finish a very satisfying meal.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apollo Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Fun Stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We had lunch here and found it to be a great spot for lunch. All drinks are served in mason jars which is kinda fun. Their fried green tomato sandwich is delicious and so are the burgers. Whether you are passing thru White Sulphur Springs and need lunch or need to leave the beautiful Greenbrier it is a good lunch with great service.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mason Jar Restaurant also viewed

White Sulphur Springs, WV
White Sulphur Springs, WV
 
White Sulphur Springs, WV
White Sulphur Springs, WV
 

Been to The Mason Jar Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mason Jar Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;