We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had No Idea” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Greenbrier Government Relocation Facility

Greenbrier Government Relocation Facility
White Sulphur Springs, WV
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Government Buildings, Historic Sites, Military Bases/ Facilities, Cultural
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A Cold War Bunker that was built between 1958 and 1961 underground on the grounds of the Greenbrier; the facility is open for tours.
Effingham, Illinois, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Had No Idea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Shocked to know that this facility was even in existence but the tour was outstanding and gave all the history of the facility as well as the "bunker".

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    34
    10
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coronado, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Bunker tour was interesting...like many of the other reviewers I wish more was left in it's original state. I was disappointed that we didn't see where the president wld have stayed had he been moved there...surely he wouldnt have stayed with the masses. I guess I was expecting a more put together community not the bits an pieces that are left. However it was still interesting an I'm glad we did it.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
250 reviews 250 reviews
52 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“History painted over”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

They've covered over most of the historical aspects. It's practically a waste of time. The facilities are even used by the NO Saints during their training camp. Very little historical significant remains.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“great tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We had a wonderful tour guide. Tour lasted one and half hours and covered alot of territory. Wear comfortable shoes. It was fasinating. Wish legislators had to go there and not come out until they solved some issues!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“somewhat ihteresting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

It satisfied my interest , but a little over priced. Very plain and drab, but you would kind of expect that I guess.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greenbrier Government Relocation Facility also viewed

White Sulphur Springs, WV
White Sulphur Springs, WV
 

Been to Greenbrier Government Relocation Facility? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greenbrier Government Relocation Facility, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.